Dumfries and Galloway Council
Dumfries and Galloway is one of the 32 unitary council areas of Scotland, situated in the western part of the Southern Uplands. It is bordered by East Ayrshire, South Ayrshire, and South Lanarkshire to the north; the Scottish Borders to the northeast; and the English county of Cumbria, the Solway Firth, and the Irish Sea to the south. To the west, it faces the North Channel.
Political Control & Leadership
- Political control
- No overall control
- Run by
- SNP, Labour, Independent and Liberal Democrat coalition
- Seats
- Independents and others 13 · SNP 11 · Conservative 10 · Labour 8 · Liberal Democrats 1 (43 seats)As at May 2026. "Independents and others" includes local parties. Source: Open Council Data UK (public domain).
- Chief executive
- Dawn Roberts
- Last election
- 2022
Overview
- Population
- 148,860
- Founded
- 1996
- Website
- dumgal.gov.uk
Finance
- Annual revenue budget
- £516m
- Council tax (Band D)
- £1,579This is the council’s own charge. Scottish Water’s water and sewerage charges are added on the same bill. Police Scotland and the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service are national bodies funded by the Scottish Government, not through council tax. See Council Spending by Service below for how this council itself spends.
Council Spending by Service
- Total
- £442m2024-25 · Scottish Government (outturn) · Sum of this council's 8 reported service categories. Scotland does not publish a single total figure in this source. · May not match "Annual revenue budget" above. That figure is a different accounting measure (budgeted resource requirement) for a different year than this outturn total.
- Education
- £208m
- Social Work
- £141m
- Environmental Services
- £23m
- Culture and Related Services
- £18m
- Roads and Transport
- £17m
- Central Services
- £17m
- Non-HRA Housing
- £14m
- Building, Planning and Development
- £4m
Claimant count
2,390 people claiming unemployment-related benefits, August 2026
2.9% of residents aged 16 to 64 · +130 on August 2025
| August 2026 | Claimants | % aged 16 to 64 |
|---|---|---|
| Men | 1,350 | 3.4% |
| Women | 1,040 | 2.4% |
Yearly and recent figures
| Month | Claimants | % aged 16 to 64 |
|---|---|---|
| August 2026 | 2,390 | 2.9% |
| July 2026 | 2,350 | 2.8% |
| June 2026 | 2,355 | 2.8% |
| May 2026 | 2,365 | 2.8% |
| April 2026 | 2,370 | 2.8% |
| March 2026 | 2,405 | 2.9% |
| February 2026 | 2,375 | 2.8% |
| January 2026 | 2,225 | 2.7% |
| December 2025 | 2,190 | 2.6% |
| November 2025 | 2,205 | 2.6% |
| October 2025 | 2,170 | 2.6% |
| September 2025 | 2,210 | 2.7% |
| August 2025 | 2,260 | 2.7% |
| July 2025 | 2,285 | 2.7% |
| June 2025 | 2,230 | 2.7% |
| May 2025 | 2,195 | 2.6% |
| April 2025 | 2,250 | 2.7% |
| March 2025 | 2,265 | 2.7% |
| February 2025 | 2,365 | 2.8% |
| January 2025 | 2,405 | 2.9% |
| December 2024 | 2,365 | 2.8% |
| November 2024 | 2,400 | 2.9% |
| October 2024 | 2,495 | 3.0% |
| September 2024 | 2,510 | 3.0% |
| August 2026 | 2,390 | 2.9% |
| August 2025 | 2,260 | 2.7% |
| August 2024 | 2,625 | 3.1% |
| August 2023 | 2,455 | 2.9% |
| August 2022 | 2,515 | 3.0% |
| August 2021 | 3,675 | 4.4% |
| August 2020 | 5,010 | 5.9% |
| August 2019 | 2,770 | 3.2% |
| August 2018 | 1,800 | 2.1% |
| August 2017 | 1,590 | 1.8% |
| August 2016 | 1,520 | 1.7% |
| August 2015 | 1,740 | 1.9% |
| August 2014 | 2,190 | 2.4% |
| August 2013 | 3,235 | 3.6% |
| August 2012 * | 3,455 | 3.8% |
| August 2011 * | 3,265 | 3.5% |
| August 2010 * | 3,010 | 3.2% |
| August 2009 * | 2,990 | 3.2% |
| August 2008 * | 2,210 | 2.4% |
| August 2007 * | 2,100 | 2.2% |
| August 2006 * | 2,295 | 2.5% |
| August 2005 * | 2,160 | 2.3% |
| August 2004 * | 2,210 | 2.4% |
| August 2003 * | 2,480 | 2.7% |
| August 2002 * | 2,815 | 3.1% |
| August 2001 * | 3,190 | 3.5% |
| August 2000 * | 3,510 | 3.8% |
| August 1999 * | 3,905 | 4.2% |
| August 1998 * | 4,175 | 4.5% |
| August 1997 * | 4,315 | 4.6% |
| August 1996 * | 5,905 | 6.3% |
| August 1995 * | 5,575 | 6.0% |
| August 1994 * | 5,925 | 6.4% |
| August 1993 * | 6,040 | 6.5% |
| August 1992 * | 5,900 | 6.3% |
| August 1991 * | 5,330 | n/a |
| August 1990 * | 4,275 | n/a |
| August 1989 * | 4,550 | n/a |
| August 1988 * | 6,115 | n/a |
| August 1987 * | 7,140 | n/a |
| August 1986 * | 7,760 | n/a |
* Before 2013: Unemployment Benefit or Jobseeker’s Allowance claimants only. n/a means no share was published for that year.
The Claimant Count is people claiming Jobseeker’s Allowance plus people on Universal Credit who are required to look for work. Before 2013 it counted only Unemployment Benefit or Jobseeker’s Allowance claimants, so earlier years are not strictly comparable. Universal Credit requires more people to search for work than Jobseeker’s Allowance did, so as it replaced older benefits from 2013, part of the rise in the count reflects that change rather than more unemployment. It is not the official unemployment rate, which comes from a survey. The latest month can be revised.
Source: Office for National Statistics, Claimant Count (via Nomis). Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
Welfare spending
Loading…
Child poverty
Children under 16 living in low-income families, 2024-25
| Year | Children | Share |
|---|---|---|
| 2021-22 | 3,659 | 16.3% |
| 2022-23 | 3,683 | 16.7% |
| 2023-24 | 3,113 | 14.2% |
| 2024-25 | 3,076 | 14.2% |
A child is counted if their family’s income is below 60% of the UK median for that year and the family claimed Child Benefit plus at least one other benefit (Universal Credit, tax credits or Housing Benefit). The two measures can differ a lot: housing costs push the after-housing-costs figure far higher in expensive areas such as London. Figures are provisional and years before 2021-22 are not comparable, so the trend starts there.
Source: Department for Work and Pensions, Children in Low Income Families: local area statistics (FYE 2022 to 2025, published 26 March 2026).
House prices
£169,511 average house price, July 2026
+4.6% over 12 months · +1.1% over 1 month · 194 sales in May 2026
Yearly figures
| July 2004 | £87,482 |
| July 2005 | £101,441 |
| July 2006 | £115,205 |
| July 2007 | £132,282 |
| July 2008 | £128,245 |
| July 2009 | £117,517 |
| July 2010 | £124,490 |
| July 2011 | £117,313 |
| July 2012 | £117,254 |
| July 2013 | £113,517 |
| July 2014 | £114,117 |
| July 2015 | £115,286 |
| July 2016 | £111,007 |
| July 2017 | £118,139 |
| July 2018 | £117,989 |
| July 2019 | £124,995 |
| July 2020 | £120,610 |
| July 2021 | £139,350 |
| July 2022 | £157,152 |
| July 2023 | £154,762 |
| July 2024 | £159,559 |
| July 2025 | £162,078 |
| July 2026 | £169,511 |
| Type | Average price | 12 months |
|---|---|---|
| Detached | £259,681 | +4.8% |
| Semi-detached | £170,149 | +5.3% |
| Terraced | £136,978 | +5.3% |
| Flat or maisonette | £87,699 | +1.1% |
| First home buyers | £142,757 | +4.7% |
| Existing owners moving home | £198,238 | +4.8% |
| Cash buyers | £172,696 | +4.6% |
| Mortgage buyers | £166,284 | +4.6% |
Average prices are HM Land Registry’s estimates for the whole area, adjusted for the mix of homes sold, not the price of any one home. Figures for the latest months are provisional: sales can take weeks or months to be registered, so each month is revised for a year after it is first published. Sales counts are published about three months behind prices. In areas with fewer sales, figures can swing noticeably from month to month.
Source: HM Land Registry, UK House Price Index (July 2026 data). Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright and database right 2026. This data is licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
Crime
7,774 crimes recorded in 2024-25 (April to March)
53.4 per 1,000 residents · Down 1.4% on the previous year
| Type of crime | Crimes |
|---|---|
| Crimes of dishonesty | 2,194 |
| Non-sexual crimes of violence | 2,161 |
| Crimes against society | 1,868 |
| Damage and reckless behaviour | 1,064 |
| Sexual crimes | 487 |
Source: Scottish Government, Recorded Crime in Scotland (Accredited Official Statistics). Published once a year for each financial year (April to March). The rate per 1,000 residents is the Scottish Government’s own published rate.
Crime figures last updated 11 October 2026.
Road casualties
People killed or injured on roads reported to the police, 2025
Yearly figures
| Year | Killed | KSI as recorded | KSI adjusted | All casualties |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 12 | 105 | 105.0 | 323 |
| 2024 | 7 | 90 | 90.0 | 264 |
| 2023 * | 5 | 75 | 75.0 | 235 |
| 2022 * | 8 | 88 | 88.0 | 251 |
| 2021 | 10 | 86 | 86.0 | 204 |
| 2020 | 5 | 45 | 45.0 | 146 |
| 2019 | 8 | 88 | 101.6 | 249 |
| 2018 | 7 | 90 | 136.8 | 357 |
| 2017 | 14 | 66 | 105.2 | 314 |
| 2016 | 14 | 72 | 119.7 | 386 |
* DfT flags unexpected data collection issues affecting some police forces’ figures for these years.
| Road user | Killed | Killed or seriously injured |
|---|---|---|
| Pedestrians | 2 | 14 |
| Cyclists | 0 | 9 |
| Motorcyclists | 4 | 23 |
| Car occupants | 5 | 47 |
| Bus or coach occupants | 0 | 1 |
| Van occupants | 1 | 3 |
| Lorry (HGV) occupants | 0 | 2 |
| Other vehicle occupants | 0 | 6 |
These are casualties in collisions reported to the police on all roads in the council’s area, including motorways and trunk roads it doesn’t manage. Police forces have moved to an injury-based recording system that classes more injuries as serious, so the Department for Transport publishes an adjusted “killed or seriously injured” estimate to allow fair comparison between years; the trend uses the adjusted figure, and the road-user table uses figures as recorded. Rates are per billion miles driven by motor vehicles in the area.
Source: Department for Transport, Reported road casualties Great Britain (RAS0403, first published 30 July 2026). Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
Public Health
- Smoking (adults)
- 15.0%2019-2023 · Scottish Health Survey
- Physically active (adults)
- 25.0%2019-2023 · Scottish Health Survey
- Overweight or obese (adults)
- 72.0%2016-2019 · Scottish Health Survey
- Life expectancy (male)
- 76.9 years2021 to 2023 · ONS
- Life expectancy (female)
- 80.8 years2021 to 2023 · ONS
Broadband and mobile
66.9% of 83,562 homes and businesses can get gigabit-capable broadband, January 2026
200 premises can't get decent broadband · 33% of premises use full fibre
| Superfast (30 Mbit/s or more) | 97.3% |
| Ultrafast (100 Mbit/s or more) | 66.9% |
| Ultrafast (300 Mbit/s or more) | 66.8% |
| Gigabit-capable (1,000 Mbit/s) | 66.9% |
| Full fibre to the premises | 66.9% |
| Can’t get 10 Mbit/s | 0.8% |
| Can’t get decent broadbandfrom a fixed line or fixed wireless | 0.2% |
| 4G indoors from at least one networkshare of premises | 98.9% |
| 4G indoors from all four networksshare of premises | 78.2% |
| 4G outdoors from at least one networkshare of premises | 99.9% |
| 5G outdoors from at least one networkshare of premises | 86.0% |
| Indoor phone calls from at least one networkshare of premises | 99.7% |
| Land with no outdoor 4G from any networkshare of the area | 3.1% |
These figures show what is available, not what people buy. “Decent” broadband means 10 Mbit/s download and 1 Mbit/s upload, the standard set by the broadband Universal Service Obligation. Full-fibre use is the share of all premises with a full-fibre connection in use. Mobile figures count the four networks Ofcom reports (EE, O2, Three and Vodafone) and are modelled predictions of signal strength; 5G figures use Ofcom’s high-confidence measure.
Source: Ofcom, Connected Nations (January 2026 data). Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
Sewage spills
37,274 hours of sewage spills from 95 storm overflows in 2025
13,645 spills counted · 72 of 84 overflows with figures spilled at least once · 1st most spill hours of 32 council areas in Scotland
Storm overflows are run by water companies, not by the council. The company responsible here is Scottish Water.
The 15 overflows with the longest spills
| Overflow | Company | Spills | Hours | Monitor working | Volume (m³) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Langholm WWTW CSOinto River Esk | Scottish Water | 137 | 3,085 | 100% | n/a |
| Eaglesfield WWTW SSSO (55m3 Tank)into Kirtle Water | Scottish Water | 346 | 3,048 | 59% | n/a |
| Eaglesfield WWTW SSSO (29m3 Tank)into Kirtle Water | Scottish Water | 943 | 2,942 | 59% | n/a |
| Sanquhar WWTW SSSOinto River Nith | Scottish Water | 332 | 2,699 | 92% | n/a |
| Lincluden WWTW SSSOinto Cluden Water | Scottish Water | 370 | 2,687 | 56% | n/a |
| Beeswing WWTW CSOinto Kirkgunzeon Lane | Scottish Water | 173 | 1,965 | 100% | n/a |
| Lockerbie WWTW SSSO (Primary Tank)into Un-named Tributary of Kirk Burn | Scottish Water | 1,522 | 1,934 | 100% | n/a |
| Newton Stewart WWTW No.2 CSOinto River Cree | Scottish Water | 102 | 1,850 | 94% | n/a |
| Dalbeattie, Port Street SPS CSOinto Dalbeattie Burn | Scottish Water | 183 | 1,620 | 100% | n/a |
| Eastriggs WWTW SSSOinto Solway Firth | Scottish Water | 795 | 1,132 | 59% | n/a |
| Castle Douglas WWTW SSSOinto Tarry Burn | Scottish Water | 308 | 1,093 | 100% | n/a |
| Cairnryan, Cairnryan CSOinto Loch Ryan | Scottish Water | 258 | 1,034 | 100% | n/a |
| Garlieston WWTW SSSOinto Pouton Burn | Scottish Water | 433 | 1,014 | 100% | n/a |
| Thornhill WWTW SSSOinto River Nith | Scottish Water | 51 | 921 | 100% | n/a |
| New Galloway Septic Tank CSOinto Mill Burn | Scottish Water | 138 | 875 | 81% | n/a |
All 95 overflows
| Overflow | Company | Spills | Hours | Monitor working | Volume (m³) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Langholm WWTW CSOinto River Esk | Scottish Water | 137 | 3,085 | 100% | n/a |
| Eaglesfield WWTW SSSO (55m3 Tank)into Kirtle Water | Scottish Water | 346 | 3,048 | 59% | n/a |
| Eaglesfield WWTW SSSO (29m3 Tank)into Kirtle Water | Scottish Water | 943 | 2,942 | 59% | n/a |
| Sanquhar WWTW SSSOinto River Nith | Scottish Water | 332 | 2,699 | 92% | n/a |
| Lincluden WWTW SSSOinto Cluden Water | Scottish Water | 370 | 2,687 | 56% | n/a |
| Beeswing WWTW CSOinto Kirkgunzeon Lane | Scottish Water | 173 | 1,965 | 100% | n/a |
| Lockerbie WWTW SSSO (Primary Tank)into Un-named Tributary of Kirk Burn | Scottish Water | 1,522 | 1,934 | 100% | n/a |
| Newton Stewart WWTW No.2 CSOinto River Cree | Scottish Water | 102 | 1,850 | 94% | n/a |
| Dalbeattie, Port Street SPS CSOinto Dalbeattie Burn | Scottish Water | 183 | 1,620 | 100% | n/a |
| Eastriggs WWTW SSSOinto Solway Firth | Scottish Water | 795 | 1,132 | 59% | n/a |
| Castle Douglas WWTW SSSOinto Tarry Burn | Scottish Water | 308 | 1,093 | 100% | n/a |
| Cairnryan, Cairnryan CSOinto Loch Ryan | Scottish Water | 258 | 1,034 | 100% | n/a |
| Garlieston WWTW SSSOinto Pouton Burn | Scottish Water | 433 | 1,014 | 100% | n/a |
| Thornhill WWTW SSSOinto River Nith | Scottish Water | 51 | 921 | 100% | n/a |
| New Galloway Septic Tank CSOinto Mill Burn | Scottish Water | 138 | 875 | 81% | n/a |
| Eastriggs WWTW CSO (Formula A)into Solway Firth | Scottish Water | 136 | 771 | 59% | n/a |
| Annan WWTW SSSOinto River Annan | Scottish Water | 130 | 740 | 100% | n/a |
| Chapelcross WWTW CSO (Inlet)into River Annan | Scottish Water | 75 | 655 | 59% | n/a |
| Rockcliffe WWTW SSSOinto Barcloy Mill Burn | Scottish Water | 3,489 | 572 | 100% | n/a |
| Wanlockhead WWTW SSSOinto Wanlock Water | Scottish Water | 38 | 523 | 59% | n/a |
| Annan, 22 Battery Street Septic Tank CSOinto River Annan | Scottish Water | 248 | 507 | 100% | n/a |
| Lockerbie WWTW (Inlet) CSOinto Un-named Tributary of Kirk Burn | Scottish Water | 138 | 443 | 100% | n/a |
| Canonbie WWTW SSSOinto River Esk | Scottish Water | 509 | 435 | 59% | n/a |
| Troqueer WWTW SSSOinto River Nith | Scottish Water | 104 | 427 | 100% | n/a |
| Dumfries, Troqueer SPS CSOinto River Nith | Scottish Water | 115 | 399 | 92% | n/a |
| Kingholm SPS CSOinto River Nith | Scottish Water | 512 | 360 | 100% | n/a |
| Wigtown Septic Tank CSOinto River Bladnoch | Scottish Water | 233 | 354 | 91% | n/a |
| Castle Douglas, 6 Lochside Gardens CSOinto Carlingwark Loch Tributary | Scottish Water | 132 | 349 | 100% | n/a |
| Stranraer, Foreland Place CSOinto Loch Ryan | Scottish Water | 50 | 344 | 88% | n/a |
| Moffat WWTW CSOinto River Annan | Scottish Water | 66 | 277 | 63% | n/a |
| Annan WWTW CSOinto River Annan | Scottish Water | 79 | 276 | 100% | 24,635 |
| Stranraer, Bishops Burn SPS CSOinto Bishop Burn | Scottish Water | 60 | 215 | 100% | n/a |
| Moffat WWTW SSSOinto River Annan | Scottish Water | 11 | 181 | 62% | n/a |
| Rockcliffe, Submarine SPS CSOinto Rough Firth | Scottish Water | 5 | 173 | 100% | n/a |
| Dumfries, 11 Mill Road/Old Bridge CSOinto River Nith | Scottish Water | 153 | 164 | 100% | n/a |
| Sanquhar WWTW CSOinto Un-named tributary of River Nith | Scottish Water | 137 | 148 | 49% | n/a |
| Dumfries, 109 College St Storm Water CSOinto River Nith | Scottish Water | 161 | 143 | 100% | n/a |
| Crossmichael Marina Septic Tank CSOinto Loch Ken | Scottish Water | 82 | 128 | 95% | n/a |
| Chapelcross WWTW CSOinto River Annan | Scottish Water | 5 | 113 | 100% | n/a |
| Lincluden WWTW CSOinto Cluden Water | Scottish Water | 42 | 104 | 56% | n/a |
| Dumfries, 2 Linden Grove/Dock Park CSOinto River Nith | Scottish Water | 94 | 99.3 | 100% | n/a |
| Annan, Burnhead/Stapleton Rd CSOinto Howgill Burn | Scottish Water | 48 | 98.6 | 100% | n/a |
| Stranraer, Lewis Street New CSOinto Town Burn | Scottish Water | 134 | 63.1 | 100% | n/a |
| Minnigaff, New Galloway Road CSOinto River Cree | Scottish Water | 67 | 48.8 | 100% | n/a |
| Langholm, Buccleuch Square CSOinto River Esk | Scottish Water | 152 | 46.5 | 100% | n/a |
| Dumfries, 33 Nunholm Rd/Albany Pl CSOinto River Nith | Scottish Water | 76 | 34.4 | 100% | n/a |
| Stranraer, Dalrymple Street CSOinto Cedar Brook | Scottish Water | 49 | 31 | 100% | n/a |
| Dalbeattie, Urr Road SPS EOinto Dalbeattie Burn | Scottish Water | 9 | 26.7 | 100% | n/a |
| Kirkcudbright WWTW SSSOinto River Dee | Scottish Water | 14 | 24.7 | 59% | n/a |
| Dumfries, 161 Brooms Road CSOinto Mill Burn | Scottish Water | 64 | 21.7 | 100% | n/a |
| Newbie Septic Tank CSOinto River Annan | Scottish Water | 5 | 17.4 | 100% | n/a |
| Kirkconnel, Nithbridge SPS CSO/EOinto River Nith | Scottish Water | 7 | 13.3 | 84% | n/a |
| Gretna Green, R/O 12 Sarkside SWO CSOinto Gretna Burn | Scottish Water | 36 | 11.2 | 100% | n/a |
| Creetown, Bank St No.3 CSOinto Moneypool Burn | Scottish Water | 7 | 6.3 | 100% | n/a |
| Castle Douglas, 1 Jenny's Loaning CSOinto Carlingwark Loch Tributary | Scottish Water | 13 | 4.8 | 100% | n/a |
| Kirkcolm, Main Street CSOinto Corsewall Burn | Scottish Water | 9 | 4.8 | 93% | n/a |
| Stranraer, Larg Rd SPS CSO/EOinto Loch Ryan | Scottish Water | 6 | 4.8 | 100% | n/a |
| Dalbeattie, Mill Isle SPS CSOinto Dalbeattie Burn | Scottish Water | 1 | 3.8 | 100% | n/a |
| Castle Douglas, Jenny's Loaning SPS CSOinto Carlingwark Loch Tributary | Scottish Water | 7 | 2.8 | 100% | n/a |
| Dalbeattie, 10 Maxwell St/Station Rd SWO CSOinto Dalbeattie Burn | Scottish Water | 10 | 2.3 | 100% | n/a |
| Creetown, Bowls Club CSO CSOinto Moneypool Burn | Scottish Water | 6 | 2.2 | 100% | n/a |
| Stranraer, 2 Fairhurst Road CSOinto Loch Ryan | Scottish Water | 6 | 1.8 | 100% | n/a |
| Dalbeattie, High Street SPS CSOinto Dalbeattie Burn | Scottish Water | 1 | 1 | 100% | n/a |
| Dumfries, 4 Kenmure Ter/Susp Bridge CSOinto River Nith | Scottish Water | 1 | 1 | 100% | n/a |
| Lockerbie WWTW SSSO (Storm Tank)into Un-named Tributary of Kirk Burn | Scottish Water | 5 | 0.5 | 100% | n/a |
| Dumfries, Hillview DM CSOinto Un-named watercourse | Scottish Water | 3 | 0.5 | 100% | n/a |
| Castle Douglas WWTW EOinto Tarry Burn | Scottish Water | 1 | 0.5 | 100% | n/a |
| Glenluce, Balkail Lodge CSOinto Lady Burn | Scottish Water | 3 | 0.4 | 51% | n/a |
| Stranraer, McMasters Road CSOinto Loch Ryan | Scottish Water | 1 | 0.4 | 100% | n/a |
| Annan, Stapleton Road SPS Storm Tank EOinto Howgill Burn | Scottish Water | 4 | 0.3 | 100% | n/a |
| Dumfries, 9 Burns Street CSOinto Mill Burn | Scottish Water | 3 | 0.3 | 54% | n/a |
| Cairnryan WWTW CSO (2011)into Loch Ryan | Scottish Water | 2 | 0.2 | 100% | n/a |
| Dalbeattie, Burnside SPS CSOinto Dalbeattie Burn | Scottish Water | 0 | 0 | 40% | n/a |
| Dalswinton WWTW CSOinto Dalswinton Loch | Scottish Water | 0 | 0 | 43% | n/a |
| Dumfries, Carrick Rd DM CSOinto Maryholm Burn (culverted) | Scottish Water | 0 | 0 | 100% | n/a |
| Dumfries, Rashgill SPS CSOinto Dow Lochar | Scottish Water | 0 | 0 | 100% | n/a |
| Gretna, Sarkfoot SPS CSOinto River Sark | Scottish Water | 0 | 0 | 96% | n/a |
| Kippford, 2 Ford View / Kippford WWTW CSOinto River Urr | Scottish Water | 0 | 0 | 100% | n/a |
| Moniaive WWTW CSO/EOinto Dalwhat Water | Scottish Water | 0 | 0 | 100% | n/a |
| Moniaive WWTW SSSOinto Dalwhat Water | Scottish Water | 0 | 0 | 72% | n/a |
| Portpatrick Septic Tank CSOinto North Channel | Scottish Water | 0 | 0 | 39% | n/a |
| Springfield SPS CSOinto River Sark | Scottish Water | 0 | 0 | 100% | n/a |
| Stranraer, 12A Hanover Square CSOinto Cedar Brook | Scottish Water | 0 | 0 | 100% | n/a |
| Troqueer WWTW EOinto River Nith | Scottish Water | 0 | 0 | 92% | 0 |
| Carrutherstown WWTW CSOinto Pow Water | Scottish Water | not reported | not reported | 0% | n/a |
| Carrutherstown WWTW SSSOinto Pow Water | Scottish Water | not reported | not reported | n/a | n/a |
| Collin WWTW CSOinto Lochar Water | Scottish Water | not reported | not reported | 0% | n/a |
| Collin WWTW SSSOinto Lochar Water | Scottish Water | not reported | not reported | 0% | n/a |
| Dalswinton WWTW SSSOinto Dalswinton Loch | Scottish Water | not reported | not reported | n/a | n/a |
| Ecclefechan WWTW CSOinto Mein Water | Scottish Water | not reported | not reported | 0% | n/a |
| Ecclefechan WWTW SSSOinto Mein Water | Scottish Water | not reported | not reported | 0% | n/a |
| Gretna WWTW SSSOinto Kirtle Water | Scottish Water | not reported | not reported | 0% | n/a |
| Kirkconnel WWTW CSOinto River Nith | Scottish Water | not reported | not reported | 0% | n/a |
| Langholm WWTW SSSO (3 DWF)into River Esk | Scottish Water | not reported | not reported | 0% | n/a |
| Wanlockhead WWTW CSOinto Wanlock Water | Scottish Water | not reported | not reported | 0% | n/a |
A storm overflow releases diluted sewage into a river or the sea when sewers are overloaded, usually in heavy rain. Hours are the total time all spills lasted. Scottish Water counts each separate spill, and for some overflows publishes only spills longer than 15 minutes 30 seconds, so these figures are not directly comparable with England’s. Volume is published only for overflows reported to the Scottish Environment Protection Agency (SEPA). 11 overflows have no figures for 2025, so the totals may be lower than the true amount. 1 overflow discharges below the high-tide line or out at sea and is counted with the nearest council area. Compare every council, constituency and water company.
Source: Scottish Water, overflow event data (2025 figures), licensed under the Open Government Licence. Locations placed in council areas using Office for National Statistics boundaries (contains OS data © Crown copyright and database right 2026).
