DESNZ · BEIS_0241_2324-Q1
Department page: Department for Energy Security and Net Zero
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Green (the department's own assessment) | 30 June 2035 | £727m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Green (the department's own assessment) | 30 June 2035 | £747.34m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2026 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 30 June 2035 | £727.6m (in 2024/25 prices) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 24/25 Q4, the NISTA/SRO Delivery Confidence Assessment (DCA) rating at 25/26 Q4 decreased to Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors: Although target design maturity has been achieved, and good progress continues in bulk excavation and preparation for construction on the site, placement of the civil substructure sub-contract is ongoing. Timely release of the sanction held against the Outline Business Case (OBC) is essential to avoid delay to future key commitments required to progress project delivery and impact to the critical path. A prudent assessment of Amber recognises the potential to impact future key commitments required to progress project delivery. The rating is expected to return to Green once the sanction is released.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's end-date at 25/26-Q4 remained the same at 30/06/2035.
Cost: The increase to the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 25/26-Q4 is primarily due to: Annual Indexation, in line with the agreed indices.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at GREEN. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ This is a nuclear project on an operational nuclear site. The Project is in the define stage. The BEPPS2 project is being delivered by the Programme and Project Partnership (PPP). The SRO DCA is a RAG rating of GREEN representing delivery against the Outline Business Case (OBC) approved by HMG in September 2023. The project is showing no significant threat to the overall P80 schedule and continues to proactively manage opportunities whilst mitigating and balancing current and future threats, keeping the forecast completion of the BEPPS2 project within the strategic tolerances of the Programme.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 30/06/2035. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The Project remains on schedule and there is no change to the date of 30/06/2035.
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 727 to 747. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Compared to 23/24-Q4, the BEPPS2 budgeted cost (baseline) has increased, this is due to escalation in line with the agreed indices.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: The Senior Responsible Owner's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 is Green. This is primarily due to the following factors. This is a nuclear project on an operational nuclear site. The Project is in the define stage. The BEPPS2 project is being delivered by the Programme and Project Partnership (PPP). The SRO DCA is a RAG rating of GREEN representing delivery against the Outline Business Case (OBC) approved by HMG in September 2023. The project is showing no significant threat to the overall P80 schedule and continues to proactively manage opportunities whilst mitigating and balancing current and future threats, keeping the forecast completion of the BEPPS2 project within the strategic tolerances of the Programme.
Schedule: The project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 is 2035-06-30. This is primarily due to the following factors. The Project remains on schedule and there is no change to the date of 30 June 2035.
Cost: The project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 is 727m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The BEPPS2 budgeted cost (baseline) has increased, this is due to escalation in line with the agreed indices.
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →