Transparency
← Back

Transparency · Major projects

ELECTORAL INTEGRITY PROGRAMME

MHCLG · CO_0025_2021-Q3 · Last reported March 2025 · Earlier name: Electoral Integrity (March 2024)

Department page: Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

Data as atRatingEnd dateWhole-life cost
March 2024Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)31 March 2025£420m (price basis not stated)
March 2025Green (NISTA's independent assessment)Low: 31/03/2025, Mid: 31/03/2025, High: 31/03/2025£388m (price basis not stated)

Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.

The department’s commentary

This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.

March 2025

Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 increased from AMBER to GREEN. This is primarily due to the following factors The primary objective of the programme to deliver the relevant commitments in the government’s 2019 manifesto, and the provisions of the Elections Act 2022 had been achieved. The programme’s leadership was identified as a source of strength, In particular, as the Senior Responsible Owner was valued by the wider programme community for changing the programme’s approach and the adoption of a far more collegiate approach to programme delivery. The manner and breadth of the programme’s engagement with its stakeholders was maintained, ensuring the programme was appropriately informed by a range of views and built bridges that aided delivery.

Schedule: Compared to the financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 31/03/2025. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The programme delivered the changes arising from the new legislation for use in elections held in May 2024 and July 2024. The programme continued through to March 2025, to support the deployment of EU citizens voting and candidacy rights and monitor the realisation of its outcomes following deployment.

Cost: Compared to the financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) decreased from 420 to 388. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Whole life costs are lower than initially anticipated due to lower demand for New Burdens funding than originally modelled. Some underspend has also arisen due to programme activity being delayed beyond programme closure. This activity is being managed via business as usual activity and budgets. This consists of a relatively small amount compared to the New Burdens underspend.

Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)

March 2024

Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. As at March 24: We continue to assess the delivery confidence of the programme as amber. _x000D_ _x000D_ The programme continued to focus on IPA recommendations, including those related to successful delivery of May 2024 elections and the next General Election.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2025-03-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. As at March 24: The project's end-date is April 2025.

Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 increased from 417m. to 420m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The whole life cost increased from 417m to 420m due to confirmed costs in the Full Business Case.

Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)

Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →