Transparency
← Back

Transparency · Major projects

WORKPLACE SERVICES TRANSFORMATION PROGRAMME

CO · CO_0029_2021-Q4 · Last reported March 2025

Department page: Cabinet Office

Data as atRatingEnd dateWhole-life cost
March 2024Amber (the department's own assessment)1 July 2024£1,059m (price basis not stated)
March 2025Amber (the department's own assessment)Low: 31/03/2025, Mid: 30/04/2025, High: 31/05/2025£1,059m (price basis not stated)

Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.

The department’s commentary

This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.

March 2025

Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors… The programme is now complete, recommendations made by IPA/NISTA are nearing completion.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 increased from 01/07/2024 to 30/04/2025. This is primarily due to the following factors… The programme is now complete, live services have been fully integrated into GPAs daily operations. Programme activity has now ceased.

Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) remained at 1059. This is primarily due to the following factors… The agreed baseline was set at the OBC stage which was submitted during 2022. The project has subsequently tracked an updated Forecasted WLC at £1,019m, as a result of a more competitive bid process and fully amended for variations agreed following mobilisation of the contracts.

Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)

March 2024

Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber(SRO rating). This is primarily due to the following factors. The programme moves towards closure andthe IPA Gate 5 Review laterin Q3 2024/25._x000D_ - following a recommendation from the IPA Gate 4 Review team in 2023, work has been undertaken to ensure that a programme wide benefits management-framework is now in place and benefits-realisation can be tracked and reported_x000D_ - Procurement 1 (The Performance Partner) and Procurement 3 (Operational Security Services) remain liveand operational._x000D_ - Procurement 5 and Procurement 4 (The Customer Comfort & Safety Community & Support) went live and mobilisation is nearing completion_x000D_ - Communications Strategy remains in place with our Performance Partners, ensuring on-going communications are developed and then issued through appropriate channels to all relevant audiences (internal and external)._x000D_ - Scoping and engagement is continuing with partners/clients for the Supply Chain Project Procurement 2 (TechnicalSecurity)._x000D_ - The Programme team has continued preparation for the programme's closure including the transition of appropriate activity into GPA's BAU and completion of lessons-learned reporting

Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2024-07-01. This is primarily due to the following factors. The Programme has delivered as per the agreed schedule, with the Technical Security procurement moving into BAU functionality, given its low value and low priority. The baseline end date 1-July-24 remains active.

Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 remained at 1059m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The Whole Life Costs reflect the annual contract values in the preferred bids for the 4 procurements which are now complete, covering the Performance Partner, Operational Security and Hard and Soft FM. These costs also reflect the anticipated growth in the GPA through the regional hubs programme. The forecasted 994m Whole Life Costs represents a steady annual saving through the outcomes of the preferred bids.

Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)

Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →