DSIT · CO_0033_2122-Q1
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Amber (NISTA's independent assessment) | 31 March 2025 | £329m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 31 March 2028 | £342.19m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2026 | Amber (NISTA's independent assessment) | 31 March 2028 | £708.86m (in 2024/25 prices) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 24/25 Q4, the NISTA/SRO Delivery Confidence Assessment (DCA) rating at 25/26 Q4 remained at Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors that‚ GOV.UK One Login is continuing to scale, with over 200 services already onboarded, for example apply for a Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) check, and sign a mortgage deed .Over time, all central government services will be accessible through GOV.UK One Login. Over 15 million people have proven who they are through One Login, and its identity verification app - which has a rating of 4.6* on Android and iOS stores respectively - has been downloaded more than 16 million times.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's end-date at 25/26-Q4 remained the same which is 31st March 28 which covers the length of the approved Full Business Case which is running from 25/26 to 27/28 and has been approved by HM Treasury.
Cost: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 25/26-Q4 (measured in £m) increased due to a successful new Full Business Case being approved at DSIT Investment Committee and HM Treasury Approvals Panel which provided GDS with the funding to continue the programme for another 3 financial years.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The AMBER rating reflects steady progress and strong momentum across delivery milestones, including a growing number of live services and expanded user adoption. The SRO SQA rating was driven by the programme’s demonstrable operational maturity, sustained leadership support, and positive onboarding decisions from major departments such as HMRC and DVLA over the last FY. The rating remains AMBER due to the complexity of the roadmap and ongoing dependencies on other departments for onboarding and benefits realisation. These interdependencies present delivery risks that require continued active management. The scaling of internal capabilities and steps taken on accessibility and digital inclusion are progressing positively, but overall deliverability is still contingent on cross-government alignment and sustained engagement.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 increased from 31/03/2025 to 31/03/2028. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The schedule has been increased in this ARMP cycle, reflecting strong delivery progress and alignment with planned milestones. Key motivators for this decision include the continued expansion of live services, the successful onboarding of significant departments (HMRC in Private Beta, DVLA, a first DWP service and some devolved administrations; e.g. Welsh Gov), and the projected scaling of user adoption. The decision to keep the programme on the GMPP for a further 3 years supports the ambition to complete onboarding of all central government services. While the programme continues to meet key internal delivery targets, the schedule remains dependent on departmental onboarding timelines and the coordination of benefits realisation across government. The leading issue facing the programme relates to ‘Service Migration’, however a number of treatments and mitigations are in place to effectively counteract service onboarding slippage. The Programme continues to iterate a features roadmap which captures the initiatives and functionality that will be delivered over the next 3 Financial years. This is closely aligned with our onboarding and migration roadmap, which shows the future ‘pipeline’ of services that will move to One Login between now and when the programme reaches critical mass. These dependencies introduce a level of complexity, but no material delays have occurred that would necessitate a change to the overall timeline.
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) increased. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ additional funding was received via an Investment Committee and agreed between Perm Secretaries of DSIT and Cabinet Office and an addendum to the Business Case prepared. Key factors that motivated the increase in WLC in FY 24/25 were; 1. onboarding complexities that led to delays in the onboarding of key Reliant Parties this year, 2. Emergent cyber security risks related to geo political events requiring increased resilience in order to protect the programme from cyber threats, and 3. increased reliance on more expensive Managed Service Providers and Contingent Labour contractors as a result of Civil Service headcount caps which meant the Programme could not recruit Civil Servants into these roles. Significant progress has been made against each of these factors.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. Delivery confidence remains at AMBER. A combination of headcount restrictions and no corresponding budget increase in 2024/25 would leave GOV.UK One Login with insufficient capacity to complete all of the work originally planned for this financial year. The programme is taking a number of steps to mitigate the risks including engaging with senior Cabinet Office risk governance groups.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2025-03-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. The programme remains on track to achieve its core deliverables: to onboard 145 services - and their users - by the end of 2024/25; to operate an increasingly resilient, secure and inclusive live system, with multiple ways for people to prove their identity; to provide effective customer support; and to realise significant financial benefits for government_x000D_ _x000D_ The programme is rated Amber at the end of 2023/24 due to complexity of delivery; One Login is a multi-faceted technical solution, with a wide range of stakeholders and a challenging pace of delivery. The programme is, therefore, understandably managing a number of significant risks and issues. The programme has continued to strengthen its risk management processes over the past 12 months to ensure clearer escalation routes and implementation of treatments, as recognised in the IPA's Gate 4 review in November 2023.
Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 increased from 305m. to 329m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The 305m covers the 3 year SR21 period for which funding has been agreed in the financial case of the current business case.
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →