CO · CO_0133_2223-Q1 · Last reported March 2025
Department page: Cabinet Office
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 31 March 2030 | £558m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 31 March 2030 | £558m (price basis not stated) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The Government Hubs and Whitehall Campus programme remains Amber in line with the IPA rating given in July 2024. In the period the Programme has delivered a further two government hubs in Croydon, 2 Ruskin Square and London, 22 Whitehall plus a project previously within the programme is now a GMPP in its own right. Since the last IPA Review the programme has successfully addressed recommendations including reviewing ways of working with strategic partners and greater involvement in cross-government committees. The operating model is under review as part of a wider GPA organisational design review, which along with an accelerated Plan for London and our SR settlement, will inform an updated Business Case to be submitted to CO and HMT
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 31/03/2030. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The GPA Government Hubs and Whitehall Campus Programme will support the Government’s Strategic requirements to relocate 22,000 Civil Servants out of London and into regional Hubs, and consolidate 53,400 FTE in the Regions by 2030 to promote economic growth
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) remained at 558. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The baseline costs for the programme remain unchanged pending SR outcomes
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber(SRO rating). This is primarily due to the following factors. Programme remains Amber, in line with IPA rating given in April 2023. In the period the Programme has delivered a full refurbishment of 3-8 Whitehall Place and 55 Whitehall; a partial refurbishment of York Kingspool; refurbished 10 South Colonnade 5th floor and delivered interim accommodation in Stoke-on-Trent. Since the last IPA Review the Programme has successfully addressed recommendations including introducing a coordinated approach across GPA and Places for Growth; enhanced the culture of systemic high performance in sustainability and reviewed ways of working across the Integrated Delivery Team. _x000D_ Since the current Hubs Programme funding envelope was approved as part of SR21, there has been considerable change, which means that it is now necessary to amend programme plans. The programme is committed to providing an updated Business Case to CO Ministers and HMTfollowing CST direction on the affordability of the London Plan
Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2030-03-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. The GPA Government Hubs and Whitehall Campus Programme will support the Government's Strategic requirements to relocate 22,000 Civil Servants out of London and into regional Hubs, and consolidate 53,400 FTE in the Regions by 2030 to promote economic growth
Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 remained at 558m. This is primarily due to the following factors. Although the projects baseline whole life cost has remained at the original SR21 settlement PBC figure of 558.00(m) there has been significant change of scope to the programme this year due to a review of strategy between leasehold and freehold and following guidance from CST, which has resulted in a change to the funding profile required to deliver the programme. A revised Programme Business Case is currently progressing through the GPA approval process prior to submission to HMT which will result in an uplift to this WLC figure
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →