Transparency
← Back

Transparency · Major projects

Shared Rural Network

DSIT · DCMS_0020_2122-Q1

Data as atRatingEnd dateWhole-life cost
March 2024Amber (the department's own assessment)11 March 2040£512m (price basis not stated)
March 2025Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)11 March 2040£512m (price basis not stated)
March 2026Green (the department's own assessment)11 February 2041£328.19m (in 2024/25 prices)

Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.

The department’s commentary

This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.

March 2026

Rating: Compared to financial year 24/25 Q4, the NISTA/SRO Delivery Confidence Assessment (DCA) rating at 25/26 Q4 increased to Green. This is primarily due to the programme having delivered its overarching objectives for coverage, premises and roads‚ a year ahead of schedule. The SRN Programme team has completed actions to implement the recommendations of the January 2025 Gateway 0 Review. These focused on refining the remaining delivery of the programme (given achievement of the overall objectives) to maximise effectiveness of the governance and value derived from the programme, improving communications to further align and strengthen stakeholder support, and ensuring the team's operating model is ready for the longer-term grant funding claims operation. The revised, targeted portfolio agreed with the MNOs in July 2025 is now in delivery alongside enhanced reporting requirements to monitor delivery progress effectively. BDUK has implemented a plan to support an increased volume of grant claims, which was informed by findings from a GIAA audit of the SRN programme’s grant management processes.

Schedule: The Grant Agreement allocates funding up to and including FY 2040/41. The Transparency Notice was published on 11/03/2021, stating that SRN will start in February 2021 and is a 20-year programme. Publication of the Transparency Notice was delayed due to ongoing Brexit negotiations spilling over from 2020 to 2021. Funding could not be released until the Notice had been published and this in turn required changes to the Grant Agreement.

Cost: The grant funding envelope was set by the HMT-approved business case in 2020 and continues to be sufficient to deliver the programme effectively. A reduction in the Whole Life Cost was made in 25/26 when the revised approach to the programme was agreed with the MNOs.

Source: NISTA Major Projects Annual Report 2025-26 (data)

March 2025

Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The SRN Programme team is undertaking steps to act on the recommendations in the January 2025 Gateway 0 Review. These focused on refining the remaining delivery of the programme (given achievement of the overall objectives) to maximise effectiveness of the governance and value derived from the programme, improving communications to further align and strengthen stakeholder support, and ensuring the team's operating model is ready for the longer-term grant funding claims operation. Significant progress has been made in all areas: BDUK has agreed a revised, targeted delivery portfolio with the MNOs with improvements to the associated reporting requirements, Mova and BDUK own a joint communications strategy, and BDUK has a plan to support an increased volume of grant claims, which has also been informed by findings from a recent GIAA audit of the SRN programme’s grant management processes. Updates to the PAC recommendations were also published in March, confirming completion of cost assurance work, a refreshed benefits model, and improved access to management information to effectively monitor delivery progress.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 11/03/2040. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The Grant Agreement allocates funding up to and including FY 2040/41. The Transparency Notice was published on 11/03/2021, stating that SRN will start in February 2021 and is a 20-year programme. Publication of the Transparency Notice was delayed due to ongoing Brexit negotiations spilling over from 2020 to 2021. Funding could not be released until the Notice had been published and this in turn required changes to the Grant Agreement.

Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) remained at 512. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The grant funding envelope was set by the HMT-approved business case in 2020 and continues to be sufficient to deliver the programme effectively. A reduction in the Whole Life Cost can be expected for 25/26 when the revised approach to the programme that has been agreed with the MNOs, takes effect.

Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)

March 2024

Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Senior Responsible Owner's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. The SRN Programme team has resolved all the recommendations in the November 2022 Gateway 0 Review. Some of these focused on the relationship with the Home Office (HO) and the key commercial site share agreement between the mobile network operators and the Home Office; significant progress has been made in both areas - the MSSA is signed by all parties. The relationship with HO is much stronger, underpinned with stronger Governance and improved information sharing. The Programme has also continued evolving into delivery phase; the team has increased project delivery skills through successfully onboarding of new staff, with some joining from sponsorship and/or grant-distributing programmes. _x000D_ Since the review in November 2022, the NAO has conducted a review of the SRN programme. Key recommendations centred on improving data sharing and ensuring maximal benefit for public money. BDUK is undertaking steps to act on these, working with its delivery partners.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2040-03-11. This is primarily due to the following factors. The current Grant Agreement notes funding up to and including FY 2040/41. The Transparency Notice was published on 11/03/2021, stating that SRN will start in February 2021 and is a 20 year programme. Publication of the Transparency Notice was delayed due to ongoing Brexit negotiations spilling over from 2020 to 2021. Funding could not be released until the Notice had been published and this in turn required changes to the Grant Agreement.

Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 remained at 512m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The increase is due to rounding.

Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)

Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →