DSIT · DCMS_0107_2223-Q1 · Last reported March 2025
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Green (the department's own assessment) | 31 March 2025 | £325m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Green (the department's own assessment) | 31 March 2025 | £325m (price basis not stated) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at GREEN. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Positive progress has been seen on final grant claims being submitted, and good attendance at closure events. Most projects remain scheduled for closure by 31 March 2025. A small amount of additional funding has been made available, and a small number of ONP projects have been given a short time extension, an extension to scope, a small amount of additional funding or a combination of these. The programme is due to undergo a Gate 5 Review in June 2025 to review the progress on closure, lessons learned and benefits realisation. Whilst most projects are coming to an end, telecoms and our future networks are as important as ever - we continue to focus on building strong relationships with industry and government stakeholders, through the short extension to the programme, ensuring continuous engagement and collaboration. Additionally, we will work on improving how we communicate the importance of telecoms to senior leaders and ministers, ensuring they understand the critical role it plays in enabling growth and productivity.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 31/03/2025. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The majority of projects will close on 31 March 2025. A reduced team will remain in place for a number of months internally to ensure the closure of the programme is well controlled. The team has made a clear closure plan and has communicated positively with projects regarding closure activities and final report requirements. A small number of projects have been extended to ensure the projects can achieve their full range of benefits.
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) remained at 325. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The whole life baseline is the same as 24/25 due to the programme being funded by the same multi-year business case. Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the programme's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) remained at 325.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, Senior Responsible Owner's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 decreased from Amber to Green. This is primarily due to the following factors. Overall performance on the programme is positive. Small remaining issues have clear mitigation plans in place and will not materially impact the achievement of benefits expected from the programme. UKTL is an enduring facility within this Programme and it has encountered difficulty in transferring to NPL, this was completed in November '23 and additional funding for completion of the lab build has been approved from ONP underspend. There remain issues around recruitment of leadership within UKTL which remain an area of focus and cause for concern for the programme.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2025-03-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. The Open Networks Programme is scheduled to run until 31 March 2025 with all projects scheduled to close on or before this date. The team is working to mitigate the risk around retaining resource to this date, acknowledging that the 'hard stop' date for the end of the Programme also requires careful planning to ensure all closure activities are carried out in a controlled, timely manner.
Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 remained at 325m. This is primarily due to the following factors. [text ends here in the published file]
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →