Transparency
← Back

Transparency · Major projects

National Biosecurity Centre (Weybridge)

DEFRA · DEFRA_0007_2021-Q1 · Earlier name: Science Capability in Animal Health Programme (March 2024)

Department page: Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs

Data as atRatingEnd dateWhole-life cost
March 2024Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)30 September 2036£2,820m (price basis not stated)
March 2025Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)30 September 2036Low: 2,750.00, Mid: 2,820.00, High: 3,100.00 (price basis not stated)
March 2026Green (NISTA's independent assessment)30 September 2036£2,485.6m (in 2024/25 prices)

Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.

The department’s commentary

This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.

March 2026

Rating: Compared to financial year 24/25 Q4, the NISTA/SRO Delivery Confidence Assessment (DCA) rating at 25/26 Q4 increased to GREEN. This reflects the positive progress made over the past 12 months and robustness of arrangements in place which give confidence in the deliverability of the Programme, as evidenced by the GREEN rating achieved through the NISTA Gate 0 Review in March.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the Programme's end-date at 25/26-Q4 remained the same at 30 Sep 2036. This is primarily due to the continued progress made towards developing designs for the future science buildings and preparing the site for the start of their construction in 2027. All critical enabling works are now in contract and works on site are ramping up. A Main Works Contractor for the new science buildings has been appointed, and RIBA 3 designs have been approved. The Programme remains a priority for Defra.

Cost: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the Programme’s departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 25/26-Q4 (measured in £m) remained at £2,820M. This is primarily due to continued progress in line with the scope and assumptions that underpin the Programme Business Case approved in December 2024.

Source: NISTA Major Projects Annual Report 2025-26 (data)

March 2025

Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ With successful delivery of the Programme still feasible in light of the considerable progress made over the past 12 months. Whilst the Aug 2024 Project Assessment Review rated the programme GREEN for proceeding through Programme Business Case approval, the Delivery Confidence Assessment remains AMBER given the need for the Programme to secure funding through the second stage of the Spending Review.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 30/09/2036. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The Programme has continued to make good progress in relation to enabling works and preparations for construction of the new science buildings, with RIBA 3 design activities progressing to plan and procurement of a Main Works contractor on track to conclude in May 2025. The Programme’s Master Outline Planning Application has been granted consent by the Local Planning Authority and the Programme has secured approval of an updated Programme Business Case from Treasury. The Programme remains a priority for Defra.

Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) remained at 2820. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The Programme’s estimated costs have been reviewed and confirmed as part of the development of the updated Programme Business Case approved by Treasury in December 2024. Whilst unchanged, the Programme cost forecast reflects greater maturity, and less uncertainty in costs, as a result of a more mature design, operating model, delivery plan and commercial strategy.

Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)

March 2024

Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. The Programme has continued to make good progress through 23/24 to settle it's scope and progress works to clear the site in readiness for construction of new science buildings. The Programme has updated it's operating model to reflect the onboarding of Technical and Delivery Partners, and subsequent restructuring of the Intelligent Client Function. Designs have been developed in line with refined requirements, and a preferred scheme has been selected. Work is on track to submit the next Programme Business Case in 2024 to secure the scope and funding for the Programme. Delivery Confidence remains Amber pending approval.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2036-09-30. This is primarily due to the following factors. The forecast completion date for the Programme remains September 2036. The Programme schedule will be re-validated through Programme Business Case V2.0 for which approval will be sought in FY24/25.

Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 remained at 2820m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The Whole Life Costs for the Programme remain unchanged as the Programme continues to refine its delivery strategy. The WLC will be re-validated through Programme Business Case V2.0 for which approval will be sought in FY24/25.

Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)

Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →