DfE · DFE_0014_2021-Q2 · Last reported March 2025
Department page: Department for Education
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Green (the department's own assessment) | 12 February 2026 | £750m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Green (the department's own assessment) | Low: 31/07/2025, Mid: 12/02/2026 | £940.46m (price basis not stated) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at GREEN. This is primarily due to the following factors, The programme remains on track and is rated Green to reflect our most recent NISTA gateway review, and the closure of key issues on achievement of recruitment targets on the NPQs. Risks remain around securing sufficient funding for providers to remain in market for 2025 and beyond. This risk is being mitigated through a number of management options including (but not limited to) ensuring the future NPQ cohorts are included in the departments spending review, and working with the provider market to assess different options for the future delivery of NPQs, that might secure better economies of scale. The ECF procurement outcomes were announced in January 2025 as part of a package of teacher development updates. The programme is entering its final stages of closure culminating in a NISTA (formerly IPA) Gate 5 review planned for June 2025.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 12/02/2026. This is primarily due to the following factors, The programme is entering its final stages of closure culminating in a NISTA Gate 5 review planned for June 2025, with an expected closure date to follow once a Gate 5 review is complete.
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 750 to 940. This is primarily due to the following factors, The previous baseline forecast concluded at the end of FY24/25. Following business planning activity, forecasts have been updated to incorporate the new budgets.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, Senior Responsible Owner's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 decreased from Amber to Green. This is primarily due to the following factors. The Teacher Development Reform Programme delivery confidence assessment is rated Green. This reflects all TDR sub-programmes and projects: Early Career Framework (ECF), National Professional Qualifications (NPQ) and the National Institute of Teaching. This delivery confidence is based on a recent IPA gateway review and approved business cases, structured delivery plans and planned risk mitigations monitored in line with a clear TDR risk management strategy. Significant progress has been made across the programme, with the successful publication of the Initial Teacher Training and Early Career Framework (ITTECF) review and new NPQs delivered. Leading Primary Maths launched in February 2024, and a SENCo NPQ will launch in Autumn 2024.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2026-02-12. This is primarily due to the following factors. Project schedule remains on track for delivery in line with the current plan.
Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 decreased from 761m. to 750m. This is primarily due to the following factors. At Q4 FY23/24 the programme expects Whole Life Costs to be c.627.79m. This is a variance of -17% compared to the baseline Whole Life Costs. This is primarily due to the demand led nature of the programme and an end of year accrual not meeting tightened assurance requirements that resulted in a significant programme underspend in FY23/24 as all grant budgets were delayed by a year compared to baseline.
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →