DfE · DFE_0020_2021-Q4 · Last reported March 2025
Department page: Department for Education
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Green (the department's own assessment) | 31 July 2024 | £1,125m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Green (the department's own assessment) | 31 March 2025 | £1,125m (price basis not stated) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at GREEN. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Although the programme closed eight months after the end of NTP delivery in schools, its objectives were met, and this period was largely required for administrative financial reasons.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 increased from 31/07/2024 to 31/03/2025. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The original project end date reflected the end of the NTP delivery in schools. In order to claw back unused funds from schools and close down, the project continued until 31/03/25.
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) remained at 1125. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ This is unchanged from last year.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: The Senior Responsible Owner's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 is Green. This is primarily due to the following factors. This delivery confidence is based on structured closure plans and planned risk mitigations monitored monthly via the NTP Programme board. Significant progress has been made across the programme since the IPA assurance review to support schools with planning and delivering tutoring in future. Provisional data from the AY23/24 Spring School Census shows around 660,500 courses started as of Jan 24. This puts the programme ahead of its Year 4 trajectory (+35%). It also means the programme has now exceeded its lifetime target of 5 million courses, having already delivered 4.6 million in the first three years.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2024-07-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. The programme is on track for completion in Aug 24. Programme closure has started and will continue until Mar 25, to allow for the clawback (recovery) of funding which will take place from Autumn Term 24 to Spring term 25. Planning is underway for the final Gate 5 IPA review, scheduled for Sep 24. The NTP Programme Board has agreed a post-closure plan to conclude all delivery and formally close the programme.
Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 remained at 1125m. This is primarily due to the following factors. We are now projecting the Whole Life Cost of the project will be 655m. The underspend against the originally allocated budget is mainly a result of schools not making full use of funding provided to them across the lifetime of the programme. The figure provided takes account of expected funding recovery for the final year of the programme, which will take place in Jan 25.
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →