DFT · DFT_0043_2021-Q2
Department page: Department for Transport
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Amber (NISTA's independent assessment) | 31 December 2040 | £1,569m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 31 December 2040 | £1,569m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2026 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 31 December 2040 | £948.37m (in 2024/25 prices) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 24-25-Q4, the NISTA Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 25/26-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is due to the following factors: the confirmation by the Chancellor of funding to progress the next stage of Midlands Rail Hub at the 2025 Spending Review, and Network Rail’s recent appointment and mobilisation of the Alliance contractor who will design and build the Western scope, represent a significant step forward for the programme. However, we continue to manage a number of significant risks, including affordability of operational expenditure and rolling stock choices, as well as new potential risks associated with the proposed transfer of MRH sponsorship from DfT into Network Rail. We are also continuing to examine the value for money and affordability of accelerating delivery and progressing the Eastern and Hereford scope.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's end-date at 25/26-Q4 remained at 31/12/2040. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The West Scope is on-track to be in service in the early 2030s. Development of later phases of the scheme, to the East Midlands and between Worcester and Hereford, is continuing and will be used to inform future investment decisions.
Cost: Compared to financial year 24/25 the project’s departmental agreed Whole Life Cost from FY 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) has not changed at 1569. The Whole Life Costs for the Programme are being reviewed as part of an updated business case for the whole programme.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Prior to the conclusion of the Spending Review, uncertainty about available funding and Government support for the West scope led to the procurement of a design and delivery contractor being paused. We are working with Network Rail to minimise the impacts of any delay to delivery. A programme-wide Outline Business Case, which strengthens the strategic and economic rationale for the scheme, is well advanced and will be used to inform future decisions about the Eastern scope.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 31/12/2040. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The West Scope is on-track to be in service in the early 2030s. Development of later phases of the scheme, to the East Midlands and between Worcester and Hereford, is continuing and will be used to inform future investment decisions.
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) remained at 1569. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ There was no change in the expected costs of the Programme in 2024/25.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. The design of the West to Worcester, and Central, scope has now been remitted to Network Rail, who are well advanced in procuring a contractor for the detailed design work. We are working towards a programme-wide OBC which will further develop the proposals for the rest of the programme, including improvements between the East and West Midlands, and between Worcester and Hereford.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 increased from 2033-06-30 to 2040-12-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. The West to Worcester, and Central, scope remains on track and could be complete by the early 2030s, while other scope is at an earlier stage of development and subject to future decisions.
Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 increased from 1563m. to 1569m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The Whole Life Costs will be reviewed as part of the programme-wide OBC.
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →