DFT · DFT_0044_2021-Q2
Department page: Department for Transport
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Green (the department's own assessment) | 31 August 2027 | £535m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Green (the department's own assessment) | 31 August 2027 | £535m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2026 | Green (the department's own assessment) | 31 August 2027 | £542.63m (in 2024/25 prices) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 24/25 Q4, the NISTA/SRO Delivery Confidence Assessment (DCA) rating at 25/26 Q4 remained at green. This is primarily due to the following factors that the project is progressing to schedule and on track for Open for Traffic in Quarter 4 Financial Year 26-27.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 31/08/2027. This is primarily due to the following factors, that the project remains on schedule.
Cost: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 25/26-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 535 to 542.63. This is primarily due to the following factors that our Whole Life forecast costs have been converted into a different price base (or nominal) if it wasn't for this the costs would have remained unchanged.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at GREEN. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The project is still forecasting to deliver on budget and OfT remains as Spring 2027.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 31/08/2027. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The project remains on schedule.
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) remained at 535. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Our forecast costs have remained unchanged.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Senior Responsible Owner's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Green. This is primarily due to the following factors. An Independent Assurance Review (IAR) 3B was undertaken in October 2022 with a Green Outcome. Project received 5 recommendations of which 2 were recommendations and 3 were essential. An action plan was put in place and all recommendations have been completed.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2027-08-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. Start of Works (SoW) was achieved on 17 February 2023, one month ahead of the Department for Transport approved forecast date, and seven months ahead of National Highways Delivery Plan committed date. Project is still on target to achieve commitment dates. The Notice to proceed was issued to National Highways delivery partner on 28 December 2023, to commence the next phase of the construction works.
Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 increased from 482m. to 535m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The increase is due to cost inflation being higher than anticipated when the previous estimate was set.
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →