DFT · DFT_0048_2021-Q3
Department page: Department for Transport
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Green (the department's own assessment) | 31 December 2026 | £1,959m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 31 December 2026 | £1,959m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2026 | Green (the department's own assessment) | 1 January 2027 | £2,046.47m (in 2024/25 prices) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 24/25 Q4, the SRO Delivery Confidence Assessment (DCA) rating at 25/26 Q4 remained at green. This is primarily due to the programme remaining on track for all air stations to go live under SAR2G by Jan 2027, the project remains within financial approvals and it continues the service continues to undertake Search and Rescue when needed.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's end-date at 25/26-Q4 remained the same as last year's published end-date. This is primarily due to the continued forecast for the last air base to have transitioned to SAR2G by Jan 2027.
Cost: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 25/26-Q4 (measured in £m) remained at £1,959.436. This is primarily due to the following factors. Even though there has been some increase in inflation figures some costs have been recovered through KPI relief on those parts of the contract that has transitioned. Although some variance in reported figures and held figures is noted this is due to the NISTA deflation of the figures.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 increased from GREEN to AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ some early issues have arisen at the beginning of the transition phase but these provide key learning points as we move forward with the 26 month transition. As the SRO I do not currently believe that any of the issues currently seen are insurmountable or will effect the final project delivery.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 31/12/2026. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ although there has been some movement within the schedule there are currently no factors that are likely to further effect the delivery schedule as programmed.
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) remained at 1959. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The programme is currently early in the transition phase and only some small phased payments have been made. There is currently no indication that there will be an increase/decrease in budget requirement.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Senior Responsible Owner's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Green. This is primarily due to the following factors. The programme is now in the mobilisation phase prior to transition. This is going well with regular meetings between MCA and BHL. Internal workstreams are established and preparing for the transition phase between the old and new contracts._x000D_ _x000D_ The recent Government Internal Assurance Assessment and IPA Gate 4 (Readiness for Service) have found that the programme is well led with well established governance.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2026-12-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. The contracted schedule has been reviewed on a regular basis and remains on track for the projected end date.
Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 remained at 1959m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The whole Life Cost remains as published in the Full Business Case. Milestone payments will be made as each base transitions into service.
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →