Transparency
← Back

Transparency · Major projects

NEW HOSPITAL PROGRAMME

DHSC · DHSC_0066_2021-Q2

Department page: Department of Health and Social Care

Data as atRatingEnd dateWhole-life cost
March 2024Red (NISTA's independent assessment)31 December 2030£3,690m (price basis not stated)
March 2025Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)5 April 2046£60,008m (price basis not stated)
March 2026Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)5 April 2046£47,523.91m (in 2024/25 prices)

Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.

The department’s commentary

This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.

March 2026

Rating: As with financial year 24/25-Q4, NISTA’s Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 25/26-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors which have strengthened governance and assurance: working towards finalising a three-year Business Plan that will enable clearer spend decisions; strengthening capital delegations to allow higher value business case approvals e.g. for enabling works; strengthening governance and assurance; and prioritising recruitment to senior delivery team roles. The procurement of the Hospital 2.0 Alliance (H2A) was successfully completed, with the H2A Framework and Alliance Joining Agreements fully executed.

Schedule: The programme end-date at 25/26-Q4 is 05/04/2046. The NHP continues to work closely with Trusts to progress their schemes in line with the timelines set out in the published Plan for Implementation. The latest agreed version of the Programme Business Case was fully approved in February 2025; the Hospital 2.0 standardised system is well advanced; and the Hospital 2.0 Alliance procurement has been concluded successfully. The hospitals that are being replaced due to being constructed wholly or mostly from Reinforced Autoclaved Aerated Concrete (RAAC) remain a programme priority.

Cost: The project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 25/26-Q4 remained at the same level as 24/25. This is primarily due to the following factors Whole Life Costs do not include Pre-programme expenditure, or BAU running costs for each project. This will be assessed via individual business cases and funded over the lifetime of the asset. Whole Life Costs are now based on the latest agreed Programme Business Case, which was fully approved in February 2025, and covers 46 schemes for completion by 2045/46.

Source: NISTA Major Projects Annual Report 2025-26 (data)

March 2025

Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 has improved to AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Following the New Hospital Programme (NHP) Review, we now have an agreed, realistic implementation plan, together with agreed changes to funding to the waves approach. NHP also appointed the Programme Delivery Partner (known as Health Delivery Partnership) on 1 April 2025.

Schedule: The project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 is 05/04/2046. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The New Hospital Programme (NHP) is currently reporting delivery as on-track against the schedule published in the Plan for Implementation.  The latest agreed version of the Programme Business Case was fully approved in February 2025, the Hospital 2.0 standardised system is well advanced, and the Hospital 2.0 Alliance procurement is progressing well.  The hospitals that are being replaced due to being constructed wholly or mostly from Reinforced Autoclaved Aerated Concrete (RAAC) remain a programme priority.

Cost: The project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) is 60,008. This is primarily due to the following factors Whole Life Costs do not include Pre-programme expenditure, or BAU running costs for each project. This will be assessed via individual business cases and funded over the lifetime of the asset. Whole Life Costs are now based on the latest agreed Programme Business Case, which was fully approved in February 2025, and covers 46 schemes for completion by 2045/46.

Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)

March 2024

Rating: The Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 is Red. This is primarily due to the following factors. The IPA PAR review was held in April 2024, prior to approval of the Programme Business Case, 5 recommendations were issued along with the red Rating. Despite the rating, NHP were supported in proceeding to MPRG, which was held on 30 April 2024, in recognition of the enormous effort from the programme team and the criticality of the programme and the need to maintain delivery momentum. This is a complex programme with a number of external pressures related to it. We recognise and are taking action to address concerns raised and engaging proactively both within the programme and across Government, the stakeholder landscape, supplier base, to identify, build in best practice and embed the broad support for this work. NHP have a further IPA review in July where the delivery confidence rating will be reassessed.

Schedule: The project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 is 2030-12-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. [text ends here in the published file]

Cost: The project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 is 3690m. This is primarily due to the following factors. [text ends here in the published file]

Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)

Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →