DHSC · DHSC_0071_2122-Q1
Department page: Department of Health and Social Care
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Amber (NISTA's independent assessment) | 31 March 2025 | £1,982m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 31 March 2026 | £2,035.2m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2026 | Amber (NISTA's independent assessment) | 31 March 2026 | £2,080.52m (in 2024/25 prices) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 24/25 Q4, the SRO Delivery Confidence Assessment (DCA) rating at 25/26 Q4 improved from Amber to this year’s AMBER / GREEN rating. This is primarily due to the Programme having made very significant progress in increasing EPR Coverage and Digital Maturity across NHS Trusts. This is a key strategic capability uplift across the health ecosystem and this level of progress against a changing and unusually challenging delivery context was commended.
Schedule: Compared to Financial Year 24/25 Q4, the project's end date at 25/26 Q4 remained the same with the programme closure taking place on 31st March 2026. The programme has completed with 94% coverage against a target of 96% however, all contracts have been signed with suppliers. The final capability is 73% against a target of 70%, reaching 78% by end of Quarter One 26/27 with no additional interventions.
Cost: The Programme's departmentally agreed WLC remained unchanged from the 24/25 agreed WLC.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The Programme made significant progress in increasing EPR Coverage and Digital Maturity across NHS Trusts but there remains a changing and unusually challenging delivery context.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 increased from 31/03/2025 to 31/03/2026. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ There have been challenges with the pace at which the least digitally mature trusts have been able to move. The Programme deadline has therefore been extended from March 2025 to March 2026. The programme has been putting in place extra interventional specialist support for these trusts and we are ensuring we capture lessons learned from this cohort and respond to them.
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 1982 to 2035. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Total Departmental Baseline Whole Life Costs Range, (Mid) was £2,035.2m. This has increased from the previous baseline due to the provision of increased budget in 25/26 as agreed with DHSC/NHSE and set out in the PBC addendum that returns the programme to the budget level set out in the original PBC.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 decreased from Red to Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. Programme delivery confidence is AMBER as agreement has been reached to extend the programme into FY25/26 to enable continued central support for trust EPR implementations in that year.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2025-03-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. A revised business case to reflect the new programme end date of 31 March 2026 is in the process of being approved
Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 remained at 1982m. This is primarily due to the following factors. While we await sign off of the addendum, the current forecast WLC remains as set out in the approved case. This will be updated once approval has been reached to reflect the movement of funding into 25/26"
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →