DHSC · DHSC_0096_2122-Q4 · Last reported March 2025
Department page: Department of Health and Social Care
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Amber (NISTA's independent assessment) | 31 March 2025 | £598m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Green (the department's own assessment) | 31 March 2025 | £598m (price basis not stated) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 increased from AMBER to GREEN. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ the improved coverage of the programme: as of Feb 2025, 78% of CQC registered adult social care providers have a digital social care record, covering 87% of people receiving CQC registered adult social care services. The programme forecasts to achieve 80% in the coming months.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 31/03/2025. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The programme is forecasting to achieve 80% adoption in the coming months, therefore the programme is exiting the GMPP and standing up to two successor programmes to continue building on progress and sustainability.
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) remained at 598. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The whole life cost were unchanged from the original economic modelling. They reflect both government costs and cost borne by care providers maintaining and sustaining contracts.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. 63% of CQC registered adult social care providers have a digital social care record - covering 70% of people receiving adult social care services (as of Feb 24). This is an uplift of more than 20 percentage points on the baselined position reported in December 2021. There are 7 assured digital social care record solutions who are fully compliant with the effective standards - this is subject to change as new standards are introduced and new suppliers become compliant. The programme is considering how it can maximise the support it provided to adult social care providers in its final year.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2025-03-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. The programme objectives are scheduled for completion in March 2025 - with a further year scheduled for programme closure activities. 63% of CQC registered adult social care providers have a digital social care record - covering 70% of people receiving adult social care services (as of Feb 24). This programme objective remains ambitious - and the programme will be refining its programme forecasts over the coming quarter when systems submit their baselined plans.
Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 decreased from 2698m. to 598m. This is primarily due to the following factors. These forecast totals include the whole life costs to the wider system associated with the adoption of care technologies. This includes the costs associated with implementation - such as dual running, releasing staff time for training and the time spent converting paper records to digital records. These costs also include the license and hardware costs for ten years which is beyond the lifecycle of the programme. These costs are reflected in our programme business case and programme cost model.
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →