DHSC · DHSC_0253_2324-Q1 · Last reported March 2025
Department page: Department of Health and Social Care
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 31 March 2025 | £191m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 31 March 2025 | £206.34m (price basis not stated) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ An action plan was put in place to address recommendations from the last IPA review, the Programme continues to progress against its key high-level activities, drawn from the Gateway review recommendations, Delivery activity for this phase of the Programme is drawing to a close, with focus now looking ahead to 25/26 and transitioning towards a Central Management Entity.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 31/03/2025. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ ‚ the programme has delivered in line with the timescales in the business case and is due to close before the start of the current GMPP reporting cycle.
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 191 to 206. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ an increase in pass-through funding from additional funders to providers that was facilitated by the Data for R&D Programme. This increase in baseline was covered by the Programme Business Case Contingency and Optimism Bias.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: The Senior Responsible Owner's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 is Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. The financial year concluded with a successful Assurance of Action Plan (AAP) Review leading to Amber status. This is primarily due to increased resourcing, executive sponsorship, formalised Path to Green Plan and improved capacity to engage external stakeholders.
Schedule: The project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 is 2025-03-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. No deviation from planned schedule
Cost: The project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 is 191m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The Programme's budget reduction from Programme Business Case level has resulted in a re-prioritisation exercise. NHS Research SDE Network is the largest area of spend.
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →