Transparency
← Back

Transparency · Major projects

Affordable Homes Programme (AHP)

MHCLG · DLUHC_0138_2223-Q1 · Earlier name: Affordable Homes Programme (March 2024)

Department page: Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

Data as atRatingEnd dateWhole-life cost
March 2024Amber (the department's own assessment)30 April 2029£11,609m (price basis not stated)
March 2025Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)Low: 30/03/2030, Mid: 31/03/2030£12,337m (price basis not stated)
March 2026Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)31 March 2030£12,230.5m (in 2024/25 prices)

Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.

The department’s commentary

This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.

March 2026

Rating: The SRO Delivery Confidence Assessment (DCA) rating at 25/26 Q4 remained at Amber. Following the data received from agencies, we have now reached at least the lower end of the overall target range of 110,000-130,000 homes. We expect a further c.10,000 housing starts with deadline extensions to follow in 26/27. While the GLA did not meet its 2021-26 target, it remains confident that delivery will increase under the extended timetable. This confidence is supported by its 2025/26 performance, which saw the highest number of starts delivered in the programme to date.

Schedule: There has been no change to the schedule for the programme.

Cost: The WLC remains the same. There has been a minor variance in year by year budgets following business planning outcomes in the department. We intend for the programme to spend to its full budget.

Source: NISTA Major Projects Annual Report 2025-26 (data)

March 2025

Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. We assess delivery confidence for the programme as Amber. The Affordable Homes Programme (21-26) is still on track to meet its overall target of delivering 110,000-130,000 homes, and received top ups of £800 million in the last year on top of the original £11.5 billion budget. The programme is still on track to meet its overall target, although in May the Greater London Authority announced a reduction in their targets for the Affordable Homes Programme (21-26). This target has now been reduced to 17,800-19,000 homes down from 23,900, 27,200 for their original programme budget.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 increased from 30/04/2029 to 31/03/2030. The project end date has changed. In July 2024 we agreed with the Greater London Authority an extension to the completions deadline to March 2030.

Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 11,537 to 12,337. This programme has received £800m in top up funding which has led to an increase in our baseline WLC. We have a public commitment that this top up will deliver up to 7,800 additional affordable homes.

Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)

March 2024

Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber(SRO rating). This is primarily due to the following factors. As at March 24: We continue to assess the delivery confidence of the programme as amber. _x000D_ _x000D_ The programme continues to implement flexibilities to address cost pressures facing the sector.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2029-04-30. This is primarily due to the following factors. As at March 24: The project's end-date is April 2029.

Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 increased from 11583m. to 11609m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The whole life cost increased from 11583m to 11609m as a result of a small increase in resource costs due to increased commercial and legal fees. Capital costs have remained fixed.

Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)

Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →