MHCLG · DLUHC_0181_2223-Q3
Department page: Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Amber (NISTA's independent assessment) | 30 March 2027 | £151m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Amber (NISTA's independent assessment) | 30 March 2027 | £148.34m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2026 | Amber (NISTA's independent assessment) | Mid: 29/03/2030, High: 31/03/2030 | £218.54m (in 2024/25 prices) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: The SRO Delivery Confidence Assessment (DCA) rating at 25/26 Q4 remained at Amber. The NISTA Gateway Review took place in February 2026, assessing the programme’s readiness for the next phase of delivery. The review team were complimentary of the programme recognising improved delivery maturity within a complex and evolving environment. This resulted in an Amber delivery confidence rating, reflecting progress alongside the inherent challenges of scaling delivery nationally. The programme has prioritised activity to address the 12 Gateway recommendations which were focused around integrated planning, adoption, governance. A central priority is developing an integrated, outcome-focused plan that aligns dependencies, milestones and benefits across policy and delivery; this underpins several other recommendations. Key delivery risks are being managed through closer collaboration with partners and more targeted engagement with local authorities to support adoption. Governance is evolving to place emphasis on business change and operational delivery, with broader stakeholder involvement to strengthen ownership, accountability and benefits realisation.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's end-date at 25/26-Q4 increased from 30/03/2027 to 29/03/2030. This reflects an updated business case agreed at the recent spending review which sets out plans to scale digital transformation of the planning system, moving from pilots to widespread adoption. Key plans include scaling the Planning Data Platform, mandating data standards, enabling national data sharing and AI use, and shifting towards market intervention so suppliers meet a modern software definition. By 2030, the aim is a faster, data-driven system delivering productivity gains, better decisions, which will enable the delivery of 1.5 million homes.
Cost: The WLC has increased by £71m, reflecting increases from Spending Review Phase 2 and adjustments for inflation in real terms.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The latest IPA gateway 0 (3) review took place in October 2024 with the programme given an Amber rating, with narrative from the review team showing that we are maintaining good progress. The immediate priorities include: developing clear criteria and SMART measures to ensure successful delivery against revised targets for the current Spending Review period that can be evidenced. Ability to easily monitor the status of all Local Planning Authorities (LPAs) as they implement and adopt modern planning software. Revision of the Strategic Business Case to align with the Spending Review and reviewing the benefits strategy and plans to reflect the current state of the programme.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained 30/03/2027. This is primarily due to the following factors: There has been no change to the schedule for the programme.
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 106 to 148. This is primarily due to the following factors: Previous WLC did not include costs beyond Spending Review period which ended in 24/25. Therefore, WLC cost increase will continue to fund existing activities to be delivered in future Spending Review periods. These additional costs include workforce, maintenance and system support as well as product development which are necessary to ensure continued progress and successful completion of the programme’s objectives. We expect WLC to increase by the end of Financial Year 25/26, as the next phase of Spending Review is finalised.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. As at March 24: We continue to assess the delivery confidence of the programme as amber. _x000D_ _x000D_ The programme continued to focus on IPA recommendations relating to programme wide adoption, engagement and innovation strategies.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 decreased from 2027-12-31 to 2027-03-30. This is primarily due to the following factors. As at March 24: The project's end-date is March 2027. This has changed to align with the agreed funding period.
Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 increased from 150m. to 151m. This is primarily due to the following factors. Project Baseline Whole Life Cost remians at 150.01 (m) as reoported in 22-23. WLC included expected programme budget to continue delivery beyond the spending review period (25-26 and beyond). _x000D_ _x000D_ Future year funding adjusted to reflect increased focus on software adoption and development (largest proportion of the digital planning budget) to better align budget with programme delivery plans. 17.9m of 24-25 budget is allocated to for LPAs to deliver software adoption. _x000D_ _x000D_ Programme optimism bias has been reallocated to fund increased workforce and PropTech adoption work.
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →