Transparency
← Back

Transparency · Major projects

BUILDING SAFETY REGULATOR

DWP · DWP_0008_2122-Q2 · Last reported March 2025

Department page: Department for Work and Pensions

Data as atRatingEnd dateWhole-life cost
March 2024Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)31 March 2025£910m (price basis not stated)
March 2025Green (NISTA's independent assessment)Low: 31/03/2025, Mid: 31/03/2025, High: 31/03/2025Low: 909.74, Mid: 909.74, High: 909.74 (price basis not stated)

Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.

The department’s commentary

This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.

March 2025

Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 increased from AMBER to GREEN. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The programme achieved all major and legislative milestones as planned delivery to both time and under budget. The transition in to HSE support teams concluded and the programme achieved a GREEN rating from the Gate 5 Operations Review and Benefits Realisation independent assurance review in February 2025.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 31/03/2025. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ When the project was initially approved, the Building Safety Regulator was scheduled to become operational in FY24-25. This milestone was successfully achieved, and the project transitioned to operational status as planned. This success was made possible by the hard work and commitment of everyone involved, whose dedication ensured the timetable was met.

Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) decreased from 910 to 909. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Resource availability and capacity restraints affected spend (both revenue and capital).

Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)

March 2024

Rating: The Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 is Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. Successful delivery and operationalisation of the Building Safety Regulator from April 2024 is certain, with further significant progress made in this quarter to March 2024. In addition to previous critical milestones achieved in the prior quarter, 'Mandatory Occurence Reporting', 'Make a complaint' (as defined in legislation) services were launched, along with registration services for building inspectors and building control bodies in Wales. Operational recruitment improved over the quarter, securing staff required to operate into Q1 2024 and beyond. The final series of services launched between April 4-8th, comprising; Building Assessment Certification for existing buildings, publication of the registers of Buildings Inspectors and building control bodies, regulation of the Building Control profession, aswell as the enabling arrangements for transitional buildings.

Schedule: The project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 is 2025-03-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. Over the last quarter the Programme has delivered on plan to support the secondary legislation programme, launching new regulatory services as expected. The programme has also delivered the people, process and digital requirements to enable the regulator to operate from the final legislative 'coming into force' of April 6th. Scheduled end date of the programme remains March 2025

Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 decreased from 1023m. to 910m. This is primarily due to the following factors. Whole life costs have reduced as a result of the baseline now reflecting the expenditure figures as per the approved FBC which reflects the BSR target operating model which is based upon revised assumptions to the volume, phasing and delivery of work across BSR and it's partner regulators. Also impacting is the significant reduction in optimism bias from OBC to FBC (RDEL 25% to 10%, CDEL 35% to 10%) reflecting the comparative maturity of the programme which provides for increased confidence in the underlying baseline financial forecast.

Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)

Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →