Transparency
← Back

Transparency · Major projects

Workplace Transformation

DWP · DWP_0013_2122-Q2

Department page: Department for Work and Pensions

Data as atRatingEnd dateWhole-life cost
March 2024Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)31 March 2030£830m (price basis not stated)
March 2025Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)31 March 2030£3,506.7m (price basis not stated)
March 2026Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)31 March 2031£3,367.17m (in 2024/25 prices)

Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.

The department’s commentary

This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.

March 2026

Rating: The NISTA review carried out during January 2026 assessed the Programme as Amber indicating that WTP is in a good position to deliver further success. It noted that the Programme is well led and has strong inter-personal relationships with key stakeholders. The SRO has agreed the recommendations detailed in the report and an action plan has been developed. Regular updates will be provided to the boards on progress to address the recommendations. The rating recognises the transformation journey the department is on, with a dependency on other transformation programmes and the department’s evolving departmental operating model in terms of understanding the size of the estate, particularly beyond 2030. This includes a dependency on the DWP Target Operating Model (TOM).

Schedule: WTP is complex, and as an enabling Programme it has a number of key dependencies including future size of the workforce, how that workforce is deployed, and the underpinning ways services are delivered (the operating model) during modernisation/transformation. The third iteration of the Programme Business Case (PBC) was approved by HMT in June 2025 with a fourth iteration of the Programme Business Case (PBC4) was approved on the 23/03/26 securing approval for a "Balanced Approach" to rationalise the estate into a smaller, more efficient, and sustainable footprint starting from FY2026/27. Deliverables achieved within 25-26 include: · Closure of selected Jobcentres and Service and Support Centres · Decommissioned temporary jobcentres established to support customers during the pandemic. Only one temporary jobcentre remains open to the public and this will be converted to a permanent jobcentre. · Completed investment work in Jobcentre and Service and Support Centre sites to improve the standard of buildings. · Progression of high-profile office moves in London · Moved colleagues into ‘award winning’ Fylde View building in Blackpool, contributing to wider local authority plans to regenerate the town centre. · Started construction of new Newcastle hub - due for completion in 2027. · Installation of 255 electric car charging points at over 100 DWP sites saving over 199.76 tonnes of CO2 to date. · Repaired or installed cycle racks at 94 sites. · Installation of Under Setting Sensors to improve our understanding of space utilisation within sites. · Feasibility work to inform future investment and divestment of sites · Launched a lift share app at five pilot sites, reducing travel costs and carbon impacts by facilitating shared commutes to the office. · Led on the implementation of 60% In Office Attendance across the Department.

Cost: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the programme’s departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 25/26-Q4 (measured in £m) at £3367.17m. This increase is primarily due to the following factors: The transition from Programme Business Case (PBC2) to the departmentally approved Programme Business case (PBC4). PBC2 focused on Spending Review (SR21) delivery, largely targeting specific projects. PBC4 incorporates more detailed delivery planning for SR25 onwards. Key drivers include: • Revised assumptions following detailed delivery planning for SR25 including changes in the strategy for the number of sites. Previous PBC2 assumptions were based on SR21 hence less refined for future years. • More complex and higher cost projects compared to earlier network design activity. • Updated people impact costs reflecting lease end positions, alternative options, and ministerial decisions. • Updated cost modelling assumptions aligned to current industry benchmarks and construction inflation. • In PBC4 we have reclassified the IFRS 16 (International Financial Reporting Standards) impacts which are no longer part of the financial case cash position based on NISTA (National Infrastructure and Service Transformation Authority) advice

Source: NISTA Major Projects Annual Report 2025-26 (data)

March 2025

Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The IPA review carried out during September 2024, assessed the Programme as Amber indicating that while there are significant challenges, the Programme is feasible and achievable. The Programme has almost completed its action plan to address the recommendations made, with just one remaining action due to be concluded by the end of July 2025. The rating recognises the transformation journey the department is on, with a dependency on other transformation programmes and the department’s evolving departmental operating model in terms of understanding the size of the estate, particularly beyond 2030. These are out with the programme’s control, although strong relationships have been built with those programmes.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 31/03/2030. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ WTP is complex, and as an enabling Programme it has a number of key dependencies including future size of the workforce, how that workforce is deployed, and the underpinning ways services are delivered (the operating model) during modernisation/transformation. The second iteration of the Programme Business Case (PBC) was approved by HMT in October 2023 with a third iteration currently with HMT awaiting approval as per annual refresh and iteration processes. The programme has been developing plans for 2025 to 2028, aligning its modelling with its Spending Review bid and scheduled lease expiry events in 2028, across the DWP estate. The Programme achieved its planned deliverables to ‘right size’ and improve the quality of the estate in 24/25. Deliverables achieved included: • Closure of selected ‘Back of House’, Front of House and Temporary Jobcentre sites • Investment work in sites to improve the standard of buildings and increase and improve the provision of Learning Design and Development rooms • Progression of high-profile office moves in London, Blackpool, and Newcastle • Installation of electric car charging points • Provision of cycle storage • Installation of Under Setting Sensors to improve our understanding of space utilisation within sites • Feasibility work to inform future investment and divestment of sites The Programme has been leading on the implementation of 60% In Office Attendance across the Department. Progress has been made to enable this. A Business Change approach has been developed to embed working practices which enable and encourage our colleagues to use our buildings effectively, helping us to; maximise the utilisation of our sites, support the development of inclusive communities, cultures and connections in our offices and deliver return on our investment.

Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 830 to 3506. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ There has been a change to data presentation only. Previously the HMT Approved/Departmental baseline recurrent costs were netted off in the benefits tab, hence benefit tab reflected the net benefits position. For Q4 for presentational purposes only, gross HMT Approved/Departmental baseline recurrent costs of £2,676.9m have been removed from the benefits tab and input under the costs tab (under recurring new costs). The net effect of this movement is nil.

Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)

March 2024

Rating: The Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 is Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. The latest IPA RAG rating is Amber. All the recommendations from the last IPA review have been actioned and closure of these were approved by Programme Board. The rating recognises the transformation journey the department is on - with a dependency on other transformation programmes and the department's evolving departmental operating model in terms of understanding the size of the estate, particularly beyond 2030.These are out with the programme's control, although strong relationships have been built with those, including roles within our governance and a delivery plan has been developed to make sure progress in the shorter term can be made.

Schedule: The project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 is 2030-03-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. WTP is a complex Programme with a number of key dependencies including future size and deployment of the workforce and the future operating model. WTP achieved the majority of planned deliverables to 'right size' and improve the quality of the estate in 23/24 actively managing the few where delivery slipped due to external influences. Deliverables achieved included: . closure of selected sites . site investment work to improve building standards . reduce redundant space based on occupancy levels . Feasibility work to inform future investment levels The People Strategy supporting WTP, to 'retain, retrain and redeploy' colleagues was successfully implemented, resulting in lower people exit costs than forecasted with no compulsory redundancies. Four Cabinet Office Places for Growth targets were met or exceeded ahead of 2025 deadlines, including relocating DWP roles from London. WTP are now developing its future plans aligned to the next Spending Review and scheduled lease expiry dates in 2028.

Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 decreased from 862m. to 830m. This is primarily due to the following factors. 2223 Q4 whole life baseline was based on Programme Business Case (PBC1) signed off by HMT in March 22 with whole life baseline costs at 862.3m. This has since been revised at Q3 to reflect historic actual costs for FY21/22 and FY22/23 and the approved PBC2 for FY23/24 onwards. The revised whole life baseline costs are 829.79m, a decrease of 33m since PBC1. This is a net cost reduction due to changes in some assumptions from original PBC1.

Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)

Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →