Transparency
← Back

Transparency · Major projects

Health Transformation Programme

DWP · DWP_0028_1819-Q3

Department page: Department for Work and Pensions

Data as atRatingEnd dateWhole-life cost
March 2024Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)28 September 2029£3,165m (price basis not stated)
March 2025Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)28 September 2029£2,987.05m (price basis not stated)
March 2026Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)28 September 2029£735.46m (in 2024/25 prices)

Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.

The department’s commentary

This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.

March 2026

Rating: Compared to financial year 24/25 Q4, the NISTA/SRO Delivery Confidence Assessment (DCA) rating at 25/26 Q4 remained at Amber. The 6 critical recommendations raised following the Gate 0 NISTA review in Q4 24/25 have all now been implemented and reported back to NISTA. NISTA will conduct a further Gate 0 review this year.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's end-date at 25/26-Q4 remained the same. The programme end-date reflects the end date of the five-year Functional Assessment Service contracts, which run until September 2029.

Cost: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life costs at 25/26-Q4 decreased to £0.735bn. This is due to removing the costs of the FAS & FAS IT projects, as the projects are now closed and no longer part of the Programme.

Source: NISTA Major Projects Annual Report 2025-26 (data)

March 2025

Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Following Gate 0 review in Q4 24/25, the IPA awarded HTP with an amber rating accompanied with 6 critical recommendations. This enabled the programme to proceed to the next stage, with the recommendations being progressed, and will report back to IPA/NISTA by end Q2 25/26.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 28/09/2029. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The programme end-date reflects the end date of the five-year Functional Assessment Service contracts, which run to September 29.

Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) decreased from 3165 to 2987. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Movement is largely the result of updating baselines to reflect the latest HMT approved Programme Business Case (PBC).

Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)

March 2024

Rating: The Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 is Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. The overall Programme rating is Amber due to the level of complexity and the current level of aggregate risk.

Schedule: The project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 is 2029-09-28. This is primarily due to the following factors. The changed programme end-date reflects the end date of the Functional Assessment Service contracts, which run to this point. Due to delays in the procurement of the new contracts and the need to retain a sufficient implementation period, the start date of the new five-year contracts was delayed from March 2024 to September 2024.

Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 increased from 3158m. to 3165m. This is primarily due to the following factors. FAS FBC refresh resulted in relatively minor increase to baselines costs.

Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)

Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →