FCDO · FCO_0216_2223-Q4 · Earlier name: Tokyo Compound (March 2024)
Department page: Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 1 December 2031 | £100m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 1 December 2031 | £101m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2026 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | Low: 01/09/2031, Mid: 01/12/2031, High: 03/05/2032 | £111.25m (in 2024/25 prices) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 24/25 Q4, the NISTA/SRO Delivery Confidence Assessment (DCA) rating at 25/26 Q4 remained at AMBER.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 24/25 Q4, the projects end date at 25/26 Q4 remains at 1/12/2031. This is primarily due to the following factors: the successful awarding of the Phase 1 contract in January 26 to a leading Tier 1 Japanese contractor, the strategic decision to prioritise Phase 2 ahead of Phase 3 - ensuring resources are directed towards the most critical elements of the project - and the valuable insights gained from Phase 1, which are being leveraged to improve delivery of the subsequent phases. These elements collectively contribute to maintaining the established timeline and reinforcing the project's overall stability.
Cost: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 25/26-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 101 to 120. This is primarily due to the following factors: inclusion of additional scope to deliver additional benefits, as well as further refinement in the design. The revised baseline was agreed by both FCDO and HMT in late 2026, ensuring alignment with updated project requirements and financial parameters.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. The project agrees with the Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at AMBER.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 01/12/2031. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The project is being delivered in phases and our current programme indicates that the end-date for the last phase remains 01/12/2031.
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 100 to 101. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The project's whole life costs are recorded as £101m as agreed in the two OBCs for the project.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: The Senior Responsible Owner's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 is Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. The project has recently achieved a key milestone - the delivery of the RIBA 3 Design Report (Royal Institute of British Architects plan of work identifies Stage 3 as Developed Design). FCDO has procured a Peer Review - this work has commenced and will review the design proposals to ensure that they meet the brief and offer value for money and that the tender documentation is ready to go out to the construction market. FCDO has undertaken market engagement exercises and has interest in the project. We are currently reviewing the resources and team structure to ensure that we are well prepared for the next phase of the project.
Schedule: The project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 is 2031-12-01. This is primarily due to the following factors. The schedule allows for the tender of a design and build contract(s), development of detailed design and the delivery of the construction work over several phases to ensure that that the Embassy can continue to function.
Cost: The project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 is 100m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The project has secured OBC approval for 100m to cover the works to refurbish and upgrade the key buildings on the British Embassy Tokyo compound. These buildings fail to fully meet health and safety requirements and are not fit for purpose for a modern and sustainable 21st century office working environment. This significant investment will future proof our ability to deliver diplomatic and operational solutions in one of our most important global posts.
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →