Transparency
← Back

Transparency · Major projects

Law Enforcement Data Service

HO · HO_0036_1617-Q2

Department page: Home Office

Data as atRatingEnd dateWhole-life cost
March 2024Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)31 March 2026£611m (price basis not stated)
March 2025Amber (the department's own assessment)31 March 2026£905.07m (price basis not stated)
March 2026Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)31 December 2026£1,086.68m (in 2024/25 prices)

Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.

The department’s commentary

This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.

March 2026

Rating: The Amber delivery confidence assessment remains appropriate, reflecting continued progress in delivering the Law Enforcement Data Service (LEDS) and ongoing commitment to its modernisation objectives. While challenges remain, the programme is making measurable progress against its delivery plan, and successful delivery to agreed time and cost remains achievable in line with the approved business case.

Schedule: The programme delivery schedule has been extended to enable Final Endpoint Switchover (FES) by September 2026 and programme closure by December 2026. This extension, along with the underpinning delivery milestones, was outlined in the updated programme business case, which was approved by InvestCo (Investment Committee) on 18 December 2025.

Cost: In year forecast of £146.11m vs a funding allocation of £139.71m represents a 4.6% increase/variance. This increase is due to bringing forward work identified in Persons, Vehicles and SRG for FY26/27 into FY25/26.

Source: NISTA Major Projects Annual Report 2025-26 (data)

March 2025

Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors. Delivery confidence has significantly improved since the 2021 reset, with the move to a product centric, agile development approach, the strengthening of the leadership team, and the successful product deployments and adoption. However, this programme remains large, complex and high risk. As the programme progresses through further phases of development the complexity and risk continue to pose a risk to plan and budget, this is fully recognised and being managed. Whist, March 2026 remains achievable, ongoing planning and funding pressures continue to present material risks. We are actively addressing these through targeted mitigation strategies, with regular oversight by the programme board. Despite a complex delivery environment, we are consistently achieving key milestones across the remaining LEDS Products and Enablers. Minor releases are being deployed effectively, ensuring that all live services remain stable and aligned with operational requirements. Strong collaboration with Forces and key stakeholders continues to be a priority. This engagement is critical to overcoming adoption challenges and ensuring the successful integration of new capabilities across the operational landscape. This is supported by IPA reviews which highlighted a high level of confidence in LEDS delivery, but noted continued complexity and risk associated with the development and adoption of this critical national infrastructure.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 31/03/2026. This is primarily due to the following factors. Despite the programme’s continued progress in a complex delivery environment, key milestones across the remaining LEDS Products and Enablers are being consistently achieved. This is underpinned by robust assurance practices that actively manage programme plans and mitigate risks. Minor releases are being deployed effectively, ensuring that all live services remain stable and aligned with operational requirements. Strong collaboration with police forces and key stakeholders remains a cornerstone of our delivery approach. This engagement is critical to overcoming adoption challenges and ensuring the successful integration of new capabilities across the operational landscape. The programme recognises the importance of maintaining resilience in support of critical national infrastructure and in parallel has commenced discussion to extend the PNC as contingency. To this end, commercial teams are actively exploring contingency options, including the potential extension of PNC support contracts. These considerations are being factored into a forthcoming programme decision point and will be progressed through formal governance channels.

Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 611 to 905. This is primarily due to the following factors. This uplift reflects a more complete and mature understanding of delivery requirements and associated risks. These changes reflect the evolving complexity and scale of the programme, ensuring it remains fit for purpose and resilient in delivering critical national infrastructure. Key drivers include: • New cost responsibilities, such as funding external interfaces for wider Home Office use. • Emerging complexities in delivery, particularly from discovery work on products Person and EI components. • Increased resource needs, including roles not originally forecasted. • Expanded support and security requirements, including service support and architectural input. • VAT reallocation, where some costs are now recognised as non-recoverable. • Rising technical delivery costs, such as Supplier contract uplifts.

Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)

March 2024

Rating: The Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 is Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. Delivery confidence based upon the continued positive progress towards product development and adoption since the last IPA Review remains high. PNC parity has been achieved for LEDS Property, Drivers and Vehicles Enquiry products, and development of the LEDS Person product has commenced. All five LEDS products are now live across 56 forces._x000D_ However, conclusion of LEDS development and adoption to enable retirement of PNC by March 26 remains challenging. LEDS continues to manage significant risk and dependencies owing to:_x000D_ 1. Complexity in development: multi-system integration across Police Forces, other LEDS consumers and data providers; new cloud platform hosting capabilities and migration from legacy technology._x000D_ 2. A broad, varied and demanding stakeholder community of 56 forces and 140 non-policing organisations_x000D_ 3. Growing financial and resourcing pressures_x000D_ These risks and dependencies are transparent and well-managed, with appropriate remediation plans and management attention. With these interventions, delivery within budget and time remains feasible.

Schedule: The project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 is 2026-03-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. Programme is on track to close March 2026.

Cost: The project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 is 611m. This is primarily due to the following factors. There has only been minor movements of the Baseline Whole Life Cost from 2223-Q4 which is primarily due to: Increase in resource requirements forecast over the remaining programme timeframe, and the discovery work ongoing for the Person and External Integration areas, which is large and complex.

Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)

Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →