Transparency
← Back

Transparency · Major projects

PASSPORT TRANSFORMATION PROGRAMME

HO · HO_0044_2021-Q4 · Last reported March 2025

Department page: Home Office

Data as atRatingEnd dateWhole-life cost
March 2024Amber (the department's own assessment)30 April 2025£730m (price basis not stated)
March 2025Amber (the department's own assessment)Low: 31/07/2025, Mid: 31/07/2025, High: 31/07/2025£1,010.06m (price basis not stated)

Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.

The department’s commentary

This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.

March 2025

Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Continued AMBER rating reflected the complexity within the Programme left to deliver together with competing dependencies, coupled with the risks to funding in the wider Mission and Borders Portfolio for FY 24/25 (these were mitigated for FY24/25). Next Review (GATE 5 closure) is due June 2025

Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 increased from 30/04/2025 to 31/07/2025. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Delayed due to increased complexity within the development / testing work and drain down of cases from legacy systems. These have been proactively managed and the Programme has a clear pathway to closure.

Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 730 to 1010. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ As at the end of 23/24, the cumulative spend was £730m. At end of 24/25 spend was £816m. We now anticipate the Whole Life Cost of the Programme to be approximately £1bn, noting that this includes: - The cost of running all the digital services until 2032, taking into account increased cost forecasts - The remaining change funding required to complete the Programme - Optimism bias of 50% on BAU run costs; this includes VAT where applicable and inflation for 25/26 and beyond at 2% As part of Programme closure further review will take place and be reported at Q1

Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)

March 2024

Rating: The Senior Responsible Owner's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 is Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. The SRO's assessment of Programme is consistent with the reporting throughout 2024/25 with an Amber delivery confidence assessment. There has been good progress against plans and key achievements noted particularly in the development of the new passport processing system and all relevant supporting systems. There remains some challenge, particularly around the remaining complexity of delivery and future funding for the programme.

Schedule: The project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 is 2025-04-30. This is primarily due to the following factors. Compared to 2023 Q4, Passport Transformation Programme has increased forecasted end date from 31 March 2025 to 30 April 2025. This is primarily due to the inclusion of the Priority Service capability within the scope of the programme.

Cost: The project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 is 730m. This is primarily due to the following factors. Spend in 23/24 is expected to be largely as planned, material items not in the baseline included a Commercial settlement in HO favour with Scanning and Validation supplier for material delays to project delivery and TUPE costs associated with the same project which were expected to land in 22/23. Investment was largely in line with roadmap delivery with the main factor being counter transformation delivery and most recently unplanned work to support a fee increase.

Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)

Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →