HO · HO_0045_2122-Q1
Department page: Home Office
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Red (the department's own assessment) | 31 August 2024 | £152m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Red (the department's own assessment) | 28 November 2025 | £182.72m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2026 | Green (the department's own assessment) | Low: 18/06/2026, Mid: 18/06/2026 | £169.06m (in 2024/25 prices) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: GREEN
Schedule: Compared with Q4 2024/25, the project’s end date at Q4 2025/26 has extended from March 2026 to June 2026. This reflects the time required to complete final assurance activity and support a smooth transition to business as usual operations. The subsequent Gateway 5 assurance review, conducted in April 2026, provided a Delivery Confidence Assessment of Green, confirming that the programme is well positioned to proceed to closure. Following confirmation of the Gateway 5 timetable, and to allow sufficient time to address remaining assurance recommendations and complete a comprehensive operational handover, the programme closure date has been revised by three months. The programme is now focused on finalising closure activities and transitioning fully to business‑as‑usual delivery. There is no impact to the approved financial or economic cases. FCCRAS is attending InvestCo for formal closure in June 2026.
Cost: Compared to financial year Q4 2024/25, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Cost at Q4 2025/26 has decreased from £182m to £175.3m. This is due to the following factors following the decision to (a) adopt a phased go-live approach to release the service in stages, and (b) progress with a mitigation option to complete the Lot 1 component of programme delivery, the whole life cost of the programme was refined to reflect the actual cost of build and run, and no longer includes optimism bias.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at RED. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The programme has remained as reporting RED throughout 24/25 due to a delay in the full-service go live (expected to be November 2024). Following consultation with critical stakeholders and legal, the City of London Police paused the Lot 1 delivery aspect of the programme, to review next steps in detail. This activity concluded in Quarter 4 of 24/25 when a new delivery plan, high level design and service blueprint was developed and approved. These artefacts have informed a change request to the full business case.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 increased from 31/08/2024 to 28/11/2025. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The programme has remained as reporting RED throughout 24/25 due to a delay in the full-service go live (expected to be November 2024). Following consultation with critical stakeholders and legal, the City of London Police paused the Lot 1 delivery aspect of the programme, to review next steps in detail. This activity concluded in Quarter 4 of 24/25 when a new delivery plan, high level design and service blueprint was developed and approved. These artefacts have informed a change request to the full business case.
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 152 to 182. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The Whole Life Cost has increased due to a shift in right of the full-service implementation date, an increase in annual run costs, inflationary impact and additional scope changes which align with wider ambitions for fraud and cybercrime in the UK.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, Senior Responsible Owner's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 increased from Amber to Red. This is primarily due to the following factors. The IPA are scheduled to carry out a Gate 0 review on 04 June 2024
Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2024-08-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. The project end-date is now scheduled for 31-March 2025, due to a shift right in the delivery of the new service to November 2024. This is primarily due to the Lot 1 supplier (Capita) not delivery against the original baseline plan. There are remaining conditions outstanding on Capita to deliver as part of their rectified plan, and a task and finish group has been established to ensure completion of these, which will enable the programme to have an approved E2E DIP and definitive Go Live date.
Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 decreased from 224m. to 152m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The financial case has been remodelled to factor in the change in delivery dates, and incorporating in external factors to the budget, such as inflation and more in depth understanding of the requirements of being an intelligent client. The Whole Life Cost of the programme has increased by 7.8m_x000D_ _x000D_ The financial case is due to be presented at InvestCo on 01 May 2024
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →