Transparency
← Back

Transparency · Major projects

ASYLUM ACCOMMODATION PROGRAMME (AAP)

HO · HO_0149_2223-Q2 · Earlier name: ASRA Accommodation Programme (Non Detained) (AAPND) (March 2024); ACCOMMODATION PROGRAMME (NON DETAINED) (APND) (March 2025)

Department page: Home Office

Data as atRatingEnd dateWhole-life cost
March 2024Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)31 March 2027£4,219m (price basis not stated)
March 2025Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)31 March 2027£2,492.43m (price basis not stated)
March 2026Red (NISTA's independent assessment)Low: 31/03/2027, Mid: 31/03/2027Exempt under Section 43 - Commercial interests

Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.

The department’s commentary

This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.

March 2026

Rating: Compared with Q4 2024/25, the NISTA/SRO Delivery Confidence Assessment (DCA) rating at Q4 2025/26 remains Amber. This reflects broadly stable progress against the delivery plan, alongside ongoing dependencies and approvals. Progress remains in line with plans, with the surveys required to inform site planning and delivery now commissioned. As the programme progresses, timely approval across multiple sites will be a key factor in maintaining delivery momentum and achieving planned outcomes.

Schedule: Exempt under Section 22 - Information intended for future publication

Cost: Exempt under Section 43 - Commercial interests

Source: NISTA Major Projects Annual Report 2025-26 (data)

March 2025

Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The Programme has been rescaled from large sites to medium-sized sites with a focus on Pilot sites, which will contribute to the programme's 5 thousand target. The Programme remains committed to delivering against these targets and will be launching three pilot projects in close collaboration with local authorities and other key partners, testing different operating models for each of the sites through a more locally led delivery model. Due to these initiatives, and the Programmes continued efforts to reduce expenditure below last year’s levels, the programme maintains the Amber rating, which was confirmed during the recent NISTA review which also saw the programme awarded an Amber rating.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 31/03/2027. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Pilots (there are 3 pilots in scope). Lower Target of 5000 bed spaces compared to 6500 bed spaces previous year (new target approved by Investco 16/01/25).

Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) decreased from 4219 to 2492. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ 5% budget variance because the programme expenditure was less than planned due to various reasons including slower than expected timelines to get sites live, planning approvals and site acquisitions. Fewer sites than anticipated went live compared to previous business case due to slippage in timelines.

Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)

March 2024

Rating: The Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 is Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. The programme has undertaken a period of review and reset since the last assurance review in September 2023. There have been changes in the wider operating environment, including changes to the Home Office (HO) ministerial team. The programme has put in place strengthened leadership arrangements and the Review Team (RT) heard consistently that the programme environment feels more stable, with firmer foundations in place, a realistic ambition and more deliverable plans, and therefore has been rated as Amber.

Schedule: The project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 is 2027-03-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. The programme has gone through a complete rescoping exercise-including changing name from LSAP to ASRA Accommodation Programme (ND). _x000D_ In addition we have new set of high level deliverables, setting new target dates until March 2027. The programme is currently on target and positively working through bottom up plans (with added contingencies).

Cost: The project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 is 4219m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The whole life cost (WLC) of the Programme is currently estimated at 2.49bn over an appraisal period of 10 _x000D_ years. This is a decrease of 1.70bn compared to the WLC of 4.19bn estimated in the _x000D_ Programme Business Case published in September 2023, reflected by the reduction in bedspaces _x000D_ to be delivered (from 10,000 to 6,500) and revised timescales for delivery. The programme spend to the end of 2023/24 is 222.54m._x000D_ Further spend of 266.33m is forecast for 2024/25 to complete delivery of and operate the _x000D_ four existing sites, and to progress pipeline sites into delivery to meet the March 2025 target._x000D_ (This excludes contingency of 24.7m and OB of 31.3m.)._x000D_ Budget of 170.15m has already been allocated for the four sites in delivery.

Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)

Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →