Transparency
← Back

Transparency · Major projects

Fraud Reform

HO · HO_0229_2223-Q4 · Last reported March 2025

Department page: Home Office

Data as atRatingEnd dateWhole-life cost
March 2024Green (the department's own assessment)31 March 2025£320m (price basis not stated)
March 2025Green (the department's own assessment)31 March 2025£431.4m (price basis not stated)

Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.

The department’s commentary

This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.

March 2025

Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at GREEN. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ An external assurance review was carried out on the programme in March 2025 and reviewers assessed the programme to be GREEN for overall delivery confidence and GREEN to progress to the next stage gate (closure).

Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 31/03/2025. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The programme formally closed on 31/03/2025.

Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 320 to 431. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ (1) Revised cost assumptions. We have collaborated closely with law enforcement partners to refine our understanding of the requirement to maintain the programme's target deliverables in future years, including increases to recruitment and employment costs over recent years. (2) Revised cost estimates now includes annual provision for the national Stop! Think Fraud communications campaign, in line with ministerial ambition.

Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)

March 2024

Rating: The Senior Responsible Owner's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 is Green. This is primarily due to the following factors. The programme is currently reporting as Green. The programme is broadly delivering to plan (with 23 of 52 Fraud Strategy actions already completed) and fraud has been cut by 13% on 2019 (pre-pandemic) levels. _x000D_ We continue to closely monitor the wider external risk that external factors including technology and cost of living will lead to an increased fraud level.

Schedule: The project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 is 2025-03-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. The programme's delivery of its outcomes and benefits remains on-track. _x000D_ _x000D_ For two successive quarters, crime data for England and Wales show a fall in the number of incidents of fraud by 19%, exceeding the 10% target set within the Fraud Strategy._x000D_ _x000D_ The remaining Fraud Strategy commitments are scheduled to be delivered to plan.

Cost: The project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 is 320m. This is primarily due to the following factors. There is no change to the Whole Life Cost of the programme.

Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)

Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →