MHCLG · MHCLG_0005_2021-Q4
Department page: Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Red (the department's own assessment) | 31 January 2029 | £138m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Red (the department's own assessment) | Section 35 - Formulation of government policy | £142.88m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2026 | Red (the department's own assessment) | Exempt under Section 35 - Formulation of government policy | £141.87m (in 2024/25 prices) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: The SRO Delivery Confidence Assessment (DCA) rating at 25/26 Q4 remained at RED. The nominated Minister will need to retake the planning decision before the Programme can proceed to construction.
Schedule: Exempt under Section 35 - Formulation of government policy
Cost: The WLC has increased by £4m primarily due to a longer programme, and unforeseen design costs and adjustments for inflation in real terms.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at RED. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The Holocaust Memorial Bill is going through Parliament to remove the statutory obstacle to planning consent. After the Bill has received Royal Assent, the nominated Minister will need to retake the planning decision.
Schedule: Section 35 - Formulation of government policy
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 138 to 142. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Forecast costs increased due to delays to the programme, legal costs for the Holocaust Memorial Bill, provision for inflation and additional design costs.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Senior Responsible Owner's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Red. This is primarily due to the following factors. As at March 24: We continue to assess the delivery confidence of the programme as red. This is because the programme does not yet have planning consent. The Holocaust Memorial Bill was introduced in the House of Commons on the 23 February 2023 remove the obstacle to planning consent, and passed Second Reading unopposed in June 2023. When the Bill is passed, this status is expected to change.
Schedule: The project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 is 2029-01-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. As at March 24: The project's end-date is January 2029.
Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 increased from 124m. to 138m. This is primarily due to the following factors. Whole Life Costs increased from 124m to 138m as agreed in a revised business case, due to programme delays and inflation.
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →