Transparency
← Back

Transparency · Major projects

Freeports

MHCLG · MHCLG_0008_2122-Q1

Department page: Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

Data as atRatingEnd dateWhole-life cost
March 2024Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)31 December 2027£229m (price basis not stated)
March 2025Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)31 December 2027£256.3m (price basis not stated)
March 2026Amber (the department's own assessment)5 April 2030£378.33m (in 2024/25 prices)

Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.

The department’s commentary

This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.

March 2026

Rating: The SRO Delivery Confidence Assessment (DCA) rating at 25/26 Q4 remained at Amber. The rating recognises the Programme’s successful transition from set up into delivery. The most recent (April 2026) assurance review conducted by NISTA confirmed that the Programme has demonstrated substantial progress. All twelve Freeports across England, Scotland and Wales are now operational, with strong public accountable bodies and delivery bodies established, tax sites designated, and activity underway including early investment and business activity on the ground.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's end-date at 25/26-Q4 increased from 31/12/2027 to 05/04/2030 to reflect delivery across Scotland and Wales. England remains unaffected.

Cost: The WLC has increased by £66m, due to seed capital grants forecast for Scottish Green Freeports and Welsh Freeports for financial year 2025/26 which are now incorporated within the whole life costs and adjustments for inflation in real terms.. In addition, programme costs have profiled into future financial years until 2029/30 in line with the programme end date.

Source: NISTA Major Projects Annual Report 2025-26 (data)

March 2025

Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The previous assurance review noted that the programme is rated as ‘Amber’ and on an upward trajectory from last year with much good progress demonstrated. It noted that the programme has successfully transitioned from a set-up phase into delivery and that governance structures have adapted to reflect the demands of delivery. Significant milestones have been achieved with all eight English Freeports having passed the business case approval stage and are moving into delivery on the ground with established tax sites and the beginnings of investment happening. The programme has made significant progress in addressing the recommendations from the previous assurance review including work to adapt the policy and formally re-engage departments in the programme. Further work is taking place to support the Scottish Green Freeports and Welsh Freeports to begin to move out of set-up into delivery.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 31/12/2027. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The project end date remains 31/12/2027.

Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 229 to 256. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Seed capital grants forecast for Scottish Green Freeports and Welsh Freeports for financial year 2025/26 which were not previously captured; in addition, programme costs have profiled into financial year 2025/26 in line with the programme end date.

Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)

March 2024

Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. "As at March 24: We continue to assess the delivery confidence of the programme as amber. _x000D_ _x000D_ The programme continues to focus on IPA recommendations to maximise the success of individual Freeports. "

Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2027-12-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. As at March 24: The project's end-date is December 2027.

Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 increased from 226m. to 229m. This is primarily due to the following factors. Whole life costs have increased from 226m to 229m due to technical support required in the Devolved Administrations.

Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)

Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →