MHCLG · MHCLG_0017_2122-Q2 · Last reported March 2025
Department page: Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 31 March 2026 | £4,800m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 31 March 2028 | £4,799.75m (price basis not stated) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Round 3 of the Fund was preserved in the 2024 Autumn Statement and agreed a reprofiling of c £1bn for projects beyond March 2026. All funding allocations are complete. LUF continues to implement NISTA recommendations in regards to aligning governance, monitoring returns and evaluation approach to the consolidation and simplification of funds as part of the devolution agenda. This will ensure the continued support and development of projects aligned to the Government's agenda, to deliver the programmes long-term benefits.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 increased from 31/03/2026 to 31/03/2028. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Autumn Statement 2024 agreed a reprofiling of c£1.bn for LUF projects beyond March 2026. Through the latest monitoring return, we allowed projects for the first time to extend spending profiles to 2027 for Round 1 projects and 2028 for Round 2 and 3 projects. These profiles (with optimism bias applied) have informed funding profiles for Spending Review phase 2.
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) remained at 4800. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Whole Life Costs have not changed. The full £4.8 billion of the programme’s budget has been allocated.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber(SRO rating). This is primarily due to the following factors. As at March 24: We continue to assess the delivery confidence of the programme as amber._x000D_ _x000D_ The programme continues to focus on the IPA recommendations to maintain delivery confidence of allocated grant funding and local authority delivery.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2026-03-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. As at March 24: The project's end-date is March 2026.
Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 remained at 4800m. This is primarily due to the following factors. Whole Life Costs have not changed
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →