Transparency
← Back

Transparency · Major projects

A400M

MoD · MOD_0001_1112-Q1 · Last reported March 2025

Department page: Ministry of Defence

Data as atRatingEnd dateWhole-life cost
March 2024Amber (the department's own assessment)31 March 2025£3,764m (price basis not stated)
March 2025Amber (the department's own assessment)31 December 2028£4,111.81m (price basis not stated)

Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.

The department’s commentary

This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.

March 2025

Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors. Although Delivery Confidence has remained at Amber, with the Development and Production Phase (DPP) final Standard Operating Capability now on contract, delivery confidence is greater. The A400M DPP Review Note will reset the delivery schedule for the remaining projects (noting all 22 aircraft have been delivered) which will enable ‘Green’ to be reported. The main risk to delivery remains workforce capacity which the Programme continues to mitigate through Project prioritisation to smooth resource demands.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 increased from 31/03/2025 to 31/12/2028. This is primarily due to the following factors. Confidence has increased with the signing of the Global Deal with all Partner Nations (through the Organisation for Joint Armament Co-operation) and Airbus. The 2025 Review Note will reflect the revised schedule to achieve Full Operating Capability based on the contract.

Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 3764 to 4111. This is primarily due to the following factors. Confirmation of the support costs with the signing of the Global Deal.

Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)

March 2024

Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Senior Responsible Owner's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. The continued workforce capacity challenges faced by the Programme. The highest priority Tactical capabilities, as defined by Defence Security Policy and Operations, are being graduated to the Front Line squadrons as quickly as practical and the graduation of further important capabilities will continue.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 has increased from 2024-03-31 to 2025-03-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. Programme end-date now reflects the forecast date for delivery of the Full Operating Capability (FOC) milestone. Once FOC is achieved, the Programme will transfer to Business as Usual and facilitate graduation from the GMPP.

Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 decreased from 3817m. to 3764m. This is primarily due to the following factors. Reflects a change in the Programme’s Approved Budgetary Level.

Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)

Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →