Transparency
← Back

Transparency · Major projects

CROWSNEST PROGRAMME

MoD · MOD_0017_1112-Q1 · Last reported March 2025

Department page: Ministry of Defence

Data as atRatingEnd dateWhole-life cost
March 2024Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)6 August 2025£504m (price basis not stated)
March 2025Green (NISTA's independent assessment)6 August 2025£507.71m (price basis not stated)

Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.

The department’s commentary

This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.

March 2025

Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 increased from AMBER to GREEN. This is primarily due to the following factors. The programme having achieved Full Operating Capability in March 2025, and remaining within cost, time and performance approvals.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 06/08/2025. This is primarily due to the following factors. The inclusion of acceptance and contract closure activity. Full Operating Capability was achieved 29 March 2025. These factors have been under review to identify opportunities to bring the programme closure earlier.

Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 504 to 507. This is primarily due to the following factors. Whole life costs have changed due to a MOD directed funding deferral from Financial Year 2024/2025 to FY 2025/2026.

Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)

March 2024

Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Infrastructure and Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. The programme has held to time for the last 2 years and overall confidence has improved by achieving Initial Operating Capability in 2023. However, the programme is still managing delivery risks that require constant attention, but doing this very closely with the Prime, Delivery Agent and End User.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the programme's end-date at 23/24-Q4 has increased from 2023-06-30 to 2025-08-06. This is primarily due to the following factors. The programme was reapproved in Q1 23/24 to incorporate widely reported earlier delays caused by supplier performance which have been addressed. This end date includes the achievement of Full Operating Capability in 2025 and the final delivery of the software configuration which allows the process of acceptance against contract requirements. The modification of the required number of aircraft has completed.

Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 increased from 503m to 504m.

Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)

Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →