MOD · MOD_0105_1617-Q1
Department page: Ministry of Defence
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Amber (NISTA's independent assessment) | 31 December 2035 | £13,431m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Red (NISTA's independent assessment) | 31 December 2035 | £8,208.31m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2026 | Amber (NISTA's independent assessment) | 31 December 2035 | £7,734.29m (in 2024/25 prices) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 24/25 Q4, the NISTA/SRO Delivery Confidence Assessment (DCA) rating at 25/26 Q4 increased to Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. 1. Delivery continues and tangible progress is being made across multiple project lines. 2. Approval to maintain Heavy Forces communications via BCIP 5.7 remains affordable, and is awaiting Treasury approval. 3. The programme ambition to reset its delivery approach through a Strategic Outline Case has yet to be approved. 4. The programme is therefore operating at risk, pending Strategic Outline Case and wider Defence Investment Plan decisions.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the programme's end date at 25/26-Q4 remained the same at 31/12/2035.
Cost: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 25/26-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from £8208M to £8375M. This is primarily due to the following factor. 1. An increase to Trinity Budget Whole Life Costs forecasts following ongoing negotiations with the supplier.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 decreased from AMBER to RED. This is primarily due to the following factors. Following a review of requirement under Project IRIS and a reprofiling of the Control Total, the original plans for Project MORPHEUS have been paused. The outcomes sought for MORPHEUS will now be delivered through Land Domain Command, Control, Communications, Computers and Information (C4I) Activity. TRINITY and Land Deployable Gateway Version 2 (LDGv2) are on contract within the programme. The overall health of the programme remains Red.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 31/12/2035.
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) decreased from 13431 to 8208. This is primarily due to the following factors. Annual Budgetary Cycle (ABC)24 Balance of Investment decisions which resulted in a reprofiling to Project MORPHEUS (a major LETacCIS Cat A project) of £1.3Bn over 10 years. This has now been reflected in the costed programme, along with the associated future years costs, and is the main cost driver to the reduction in WLC.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: Compared to Financial Year 22/23-Q4, the Infrastructure and Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors: Following a review of requirements under Project IRIS of the Land Domain Deployed Digital Ecosystem, and a reprofiling of the MORPHEUS Control Total, there is now an associated pause to realign MORPHEUS. This will require further capability enhancement to Bowman Combat Infrastructure and Platform (BCIP) to mitigate the delay to MORPHEUS, in addition to BCIP security and operating system obsolescence. The wider programme funding remains unaltered, with no impact to the other major change projects (ie. BCIP 5.7, DSA and TRINITY).
Schedule: Compared to Financial Year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained scheduled to finish on 2035-12-31. This is primarily due to the following factors: Whilst the Balance of Investment (BoI) decision made in Q3 will delay MORPEHUS, and there has been slippage in DSA and TRINITY, the schedule for the programme overall remains on track. Regaining momentum on TRINITY (now on contract) is achievable and work is underway. DSA will be subject to a thorough review of its delivery strategy and timeline, with a re-baselined schedule to follow in 2024/25 once the analysis is complete.
Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 decreased from 13523m to 13431m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The main cost driver to the reduction in WLC has been the termination of project NIOBE and subsequent removal of In Year and future Control Totals. Previous Balance of Investment (BoI) decisions resulted in a reprofiling to Project MORPHEUS (a major LETacCIS Cat A project). The Budget Whole Life Cost (WLC) does not currently reflect the BoI reprofile.
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →