MOD · MOD_0132_2122-Q1
Department page: Ministry of Defence
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Amber (NISTA's independent assessment) | Exempt under Sections 24 and 26 of the Freedom of Information Act 2000 | £2,744m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Amber (NISTA's independent assessment) | Section 24 - National security | £2,929.6m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2026 | Amber (NISTA's independent assessment) | Exempt under Section 24 - National security | £3,555.91m (in 2024/25 prices) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 2024/25-Q4, the NISTA/SRO Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 2025/26-Q4 remained at Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. 1. Reflects ongoing challenges and a testing supply chain environment, despite positive developments such as improved understanding of the remaining scope and cost to completion, better schedule adherence, and progress towards completing construction prior to commissioning and handover.
Schedule: Exempt under Section 24 - National security
Cost: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 25/26-Q4 increased from £2929.600 to £2930.500. This is primarily due to the the agreed position presented by AWE at the last Financial Year and the change to a new Financial Year.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors. The programme continuing to improve its understanding of the remaining scope and cost to completion, improvement of schedule adherence and progress towards finishing construction before commissioning and handover.
Schedule: Section 24 - National security
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) increased from 2744 to 2929. This is primarily due to the following factors. An uplift in budget to £2929.6M has been approved to enable the project to continue delivering in the face of increasing material and labour costs.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Infrastructure and Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. The project has been challenged to maintain pace whilst managing a complex schedule and a testing supply chain environment. The project continues to make progress and is nearing finishing construction.
Schedule: The project has been challenged to maintain pace whilst managing a complex schedule and a testing supply chain environment. The project continues to make progress and is nearing the completion of construction.
Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 increased from 2161m to 2744m. This is primarily due to the following factors. Prolongation associated with the projects complexity and interdependencies between supply chain partners, as well as supply chain performance, capability and capacity. The project remains affordable and within its Whole Life Costs budget.
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →