Transparency
← Back

Transparency · Major projects

HMCTS Reform

MoJ · MOJ_0028_1314-Q2 · Last reported March 2025

Department page: Ministry of Justice

Data as atRatingEnd dateWhole-life cost
March 2024Amber (NISTA's independent assessment)31 March 2025£2,789m (price basis not stated)
March 2025Green (NISTA's independent assessment)31 March 2025£1,228.61m (price basis not stated)

Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.

The department’s commentary

This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.

March 2025

Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 increased from AMBER to GREEN. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The programme has completed delivery and is undertaking formal closure.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 31/03/2025. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The programme has completed delivery and is undertaking formal closure.

Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) decreased from 2789 to 1228. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Whole Life Cost have reduced following programme rescoping and total recurring costs of HMCTS’ reformed operating model (baseline value £1,498m) have been removed as these are counted as disbenefits.

Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)

March 2024

Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber(IPA rating). This is primarily due to the following factors. Inherent risk in the project's timelines.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 increased from 2024-03-31 to 2025-03-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. The programme has rebaselined its schedule, the programme was extended to March 2025 to ease pressure on the business and focus on a deliverable and affordable plan for the remainder of the programme.

Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 remained at 2789m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The Whole Life Cost has remained static, and the budget remains aligned to the current baseline business case. This figure includes the total recurring costs of HMCTS's reformed operating model (baseline value 1,498m). These costs are also separately counted as a disbenefit in the valuation of net monetised programme benefits.

Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)

Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →