MOJ · MOJ_0061_2122-Q3 · Earlier name: Decommission and Legacy Risk Mitigation (DLRM) (March 2024)
Department page: Ministry of Justice
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 31 March 2028 | £199m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 31 March 2028 | £273.35m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2026 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 30 September 2028 | £273.28m (in 2024/25 prices) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 24/25 Q4, the NISTA Delivery Confidence Assessment (DCA) rating at 25/26 Q4 remained at Amber. This is driven primarily due to continued delivery risk driven by complex design challenges.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the programme's end-date at 25/26-Q4 changed from 31/03/28 to 30/09/28. This is primarily due to the programme allowing additional time to ensure a full closure process is completed.
Cost: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's Whole Life Cost at 25/26-Q4 reduced to £273.28m. The Whole Life Cost remains aligned to the current baseline business case. All costs have been reported in 2024/25 base prices in line with NISTA requirements. This is a change from previous years where costs were reported in nominal prices. All costs reflect this accounting reduction regardless of any actual changes.
Rating: The Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 is AMBER. This is due to‚ Data migration issues impacting timelines.
Schedule: The project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 is scheduled to be 31/03/2028. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The project is on track to deliver against the baseline schedule.
Cost: The project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) is 273. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Complexity of legacy technology, and increased supplier costs partially driven by inflation.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Senior Responsible Owner's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. Data migration issues impacting timelines.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2028-03-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. The project is on track to deliver against the baseline schedule.
Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 increased from 198m. to 199m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The Whole Life Cost has remained largely static, and the budget remains aligned to the current baseline business case.
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →