Transparency
← Back

Transparency · Major projects

Drug Testing Services

MoJ · MOJ_0073_2122-Q4 · Last reported March 2025

Department page: Ministry of Justice

Data as atRatingEnd dateWhole-life cost
March 2024Amber (the department's own assessment)8 October 2025£184m (price basis not stated)
March 2025Amber (the department's own assessment)8 October 2025£58.6m (price basis not stated)

Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.

The department’s commentary

This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.

March 2025

Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Ongoing implementation risks.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 remained at 08/10/2025. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The project is on track to deliver against the baseline schedule.

Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) decreased from 184 to 58. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Significant reductions from reduced unit prices of drug testing kits.

Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)

March 2024

Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Senior Responsible Owner's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 remained at Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. Whilst the Invitation to Tender (ITT) has been published, timetable risks remain.

Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 increased from 2024-07-12 to 2025-10-08. This is primarily due to the following factors. The project has been rebaselined and the Invitation to Tender (ITT) published.

Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 remained at 184m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The Whole Life Cost has remained static, and the budget remains aligned to the current baseline business case.

Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)

Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →