MOJ · MOJ_0220_2223-Q4
Department page: Ministry of Justice
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Amber (NISTA's independent assessment) | 31 March 2026 | £7,358m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 30 September 2028 | £6,826.6m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2026 | Amber (the department's own assessment) | 30 September 2028 | Exempt under Section 43 - Commercial interests |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the NISTA Delivery Confidence Assessment (DCA) at 25/26-Q4 remains at Amber. This is primarily due to uncertainty around affordability and ongoing delivery risks.
Schedule: The programme's end date at 25/26-Q4 remains 30/09/28. The project remains on track to deliver in line with the baseline schedule.
Cost: Exempt under Section 43 - Commercial interests
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at AMBER. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The Amber Delivery Confidence Assessment is driven by inherent risk in the procurement timelines.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 increased from 31/03/2026 to 30/09/2028. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ Changes to the implementation date of the Procurement Act 2023 impacted the procurement timelines and the schedule was re-baselined.
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) decreased from 7358 to 6826. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The decrease reflects the updated Outline Business Case costs following a reduction in requirements.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: The Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 is Amber. This is primarily due to the following factors. This is the first time data has been published for this programme, which has been added to GMPP over the last year. The Amber Delivery Confidence Assessment is driven by inherent risk in the project's procurement timelines.
Schedule: The project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 is 2026-03-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. The programme is on track to deliver against the baseline schedule.
Cost: The project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 is 7358m. This is primarily due to the following factors. The Whole Life Cost has been calculated to include the option for four Service Level Options for future contracts and is subject to future decisions on scope which will have a material impact on cost.
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →