ONS · ONS_0003_2021-Q4 · Last reported March 2025 · Earlier name: Integrated Data Programme (March 2024)
| Data as at | Rating | End date | Whole-life cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2024 | Red (NISTA's independent assessment) | 31 March 2025 | £525m (price basis not stated) |
| March 2025 | Red (NISTA's independent assessment) | 31 March 2026 | £284.6m (price basis not stated) |
Each year’s cost is shown with its price basis. Costs are not compared between years: the March 2024 and March 2025 reports state no price basis, and from March 2026 costs are in 2024/25 prices.
This is the department’s own commentary. It may use different prices from the table above, so its figures may not match.
Rating: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 24/25-Q4 remained at RED. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ NISTA conducted a Gateway 0 Review of the programme in March 2025. The programme was given a RED DCA due to being unable to demonstrate sufficient progress in unlocking cross-government data sharing; limited case studies of analysis undertaken on IDS; ongoing uncertainty in the relationship with NDL and the future of linked data; lack of a replacement Programme Director.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's end-date at 24/25-Q4 increased from 31/03/2025 to 31/03/2026. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ The first phase of the programme up to 24/25-Q4 did not deliver the planned capability as rapidly as originally expected, with challenges including the implementation of data infrastructure that provided appropriate security combined with the flexibility to link complex datasets of variable and often insufficient quality, and with accessing and securing agreement to share data from and with other government departments. Funding into 2025/26 enabled the programme to deliver the service, which is now up and running, with an unprecedented, critical mass of high value indexed data enabling mission-aligned analysis. In FY25/26 the programme will focus on four transformation stages to further enhance and scale the service: data sharing permissions, indexing and linking data, finding and accessing linked data and utilising data within policy processes.
Cost: Compared to financial year 23/24-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 24/25-Q4 (measured in £m) decreased from 525 to 284.6. This is primarily due to the following factors‚ This is primarily due to the recognition that some of the previously ring-fenced programme funding was supporting core ONS infrastructure required for the Integrated Data Service but equally for the everyday delivery of core statistics. The ring-fenced programme funding was therefore revised down from 2025/26 onwards as per the outcome of the 2025 Spending Review Phase 1. Previously £53m per annum had been included from 2025/26 through to 2029/30. This has been reduced to £24.6m in 2025/26 and £0m ongoing. Post 2025/26 budgets are dependent on the Business case decision and the outcome from the Spending Review Phase 2.
Source: NISTA Annual Report 2024-25 (data)
Rating: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the Infrastructure Project Authority's Delivery Confidence Assessment rating at 23/24-Q4 increased from Amber to Red. This is primarily due to the following factors. Actions are complete on 3 of the IPA recommendations from the Gateway 0 Review and actions are in progress to address the remaining 9 recommendations. Actions are complete on 10 of the IPA recommendations from the Gateway 4 Review and actions are in progress to address the remaining recommendation which is due for completion by April 2024.
Schedule: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's end-date at 23/24-Q4 remained schedule to finish on 2025-03-31. This is primarily due to the following factors. The programme consistently delivers against milestones, including DEA accreditation and Public Beta release in March 2023. There remains very limited contingency in the plan and hence progress is closely monitored through Governance and proactive risk management. The recent IPA Gateway 4 review assigned an Amber rating to the programme, acknowledging the achievements to date and the challenges ahead.
Cost: Compared to financial year 22/23-Q4, the project's departmental-agree Whole Life Cost at 23/24-Q4 remained at 525m. This is primarily due to the following factors. [text ends here in the published file]
Source: IPA Annual Report 2023-24 (data)
Names, figures, dates, ratings and commentary are as the department reported them. Where a rating, cost or date is withheld, the file’s wording is shown. Every major project →